Feb 03
DGPI OFFICERS RE-ELECTED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Feb 3, 2006

The entire slate of officers of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc. was re-elected during the guild’s annual elections last Saturday, January 28, 2006, at the Wok and Sticks restaurant on Morato extension, Quezon City.

To serve for a second consecutive year are: Tony Reyes, president; Mark Meily, chairman of the board; Jose N. Carreon, vice-president; Joey Romero, secretary; and Mel Chionglo, treasurer.

The new board includes two incumbent and four new directors. They incumbent board members are Joel Lamangan and Emmanuel Borlaza while the new board directors are Ben Feleo, Rudy Meyer, Soxy Topacio and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao. The outgoing board directors are Quark Henares, Jeffrey Jeturian, Maryo de los Reyes and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna.

National Artist for Film Eddie Romero, an honorary DGPI member, supervised the elections.

The following had served as DGPI presidents: Ms. Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1994-1996); Peque Gallaga (1997); Mel Chionglo (1998); Jose Javier Reyes (1999-2001); and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (2002-2004).

President Tony Reyes said the DGPI will try to hold another Gawad Direk night this year. The DGPI award was given in 2003 and 2005. The 2003 awardees recognized five directors, namely Emmanuel Borlaza, the late Luciano B. Carlos, Celso Ad. Castillo, the late movie icon Fernando Poe Jr. and National Artist for Film Eddie Romero.

Last year, the Gawad Direk was given to Director Augusto ‘Totoy’ Buenaventura, Actor-Director Eddie Garcia, Comedian-Producer Rodolfo V. Quizon (Dolphy), Actress Gloria Romero, Actress-Social-Welfare-Advocate Rosa Rosal and Producer-Actress-Singer Armida Siguion-Reyna.

Director Buenaventura was cited for transforming the action film genre into a relevant, socially-conscious and meaningful cinematic art form through a series of films that tackled social problems.

Director-Actor Eddie Garcia was recognized for his contribution as an actor, the original kontrabida who became a leading man in action films and sex comedies, and for his achievements as a director of well-crafted and finely-acted films.

The king of Philippie comedy, Dolphy has retained this distinction for so long a time, starting his reign as comic king when he left the stage and started in films.

Gloria Romero has been the epitome of dignified professionalism and the dedication of the true cinematic artist and the Gawad Direk recognized her for this achievement.

Rosal Rosal was given the award for her dual achievements in the fields of cinema and social work, pursuing a life-long advocacy in her tenure as the driving force of the Philippine Red Cross.

Armida Siguion-Reyna was cited for her untiring efforts to uphold freedom for the artist, specially in music and the cinematic arts, while seeking a niche for Philippine music and cinema as truly uncensored cultural art forms.

The DGPI, incorporated in 1994, has grown from a founding group of 11 directors who withdrew from the KDPP (Kapisanan ng mga Direktor ng Pelikulang Pilipino) into an association of some 50 filmmakers, as of today.

The membership committee, headed by Director Lamangan, has nominated five directors for membership in the guild, including two new directors who had made helmed digital films.