Sep 02
FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE STARTS REVIEW by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Sep 2, 2011

The eight members of the Film Academy of the Philippines special committee that will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film category of next year’s Oscar Awards have started reviewing a short list of films with the possibility that other deserving films with a September 2011 playdate may still qualify.

The committee, which is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero , has the following members:new member Director/Actress Gina Alajar; Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, the new FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines and Director Elwood Perez.

The short list includes four Rated A films. One is rated B and the other was not submitted for CEB rating. Five were already shown commercially and one will be exhibited starting September 14.

The six films under consideration are:

1) Rosario, directed by Albert Martinez and produced by Cinemabuhay (Rated A and shown during the Metro Manila Film Festival last December)

2)Senior Year, directed by Jerrold Tarog and produced by Digitank Studios (Rated A and shown on March 9, 2011)

3)Presa, directed by Adolf Alix Jr. and adjudged the Indie Film of the Year during the Metro Manila Filmfest satellite indie filmfest (not submitted for CEB rating)

4)Dalaw, directed by Dondon Santos and produced by Cine Media and distributed by Star Cinema (Rated B and shown during the 2010 MMFF)

5)Ang Babae sa Septic Tank, directed by Marlon Rivera and produced by Quantum Productions and Martinez-Rivera Films and shown on August 3, 2011)

6)Ikaw ang Pagibig, written and directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (Rated A and will be shown starting September 14)

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows: Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (1996); Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1997); Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1998); Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil Portes (1999);

Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos (2000); Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil Portes (2001); Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil Portes (2002); Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono (2003); Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily (2004);

Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureus Solito (2006); Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix (2007); Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia (2008); Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio (2009); and Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos (2010).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at