Aug 04
24th LUNA AWARDS NOMINEES ANNOUNCED SATURDAY by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 4, 2006

The final list of nominees for the 24th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines will be finally known on Saturday, August 12. Two days later, the screenings of the films for the academy voters will begin at the UP Film Center in Diliman, Q.C.

FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez said the announcement will be held during a merienda cena-press conference which will be held at the Ihaw-Ihaw Restaurant at the corner of Quezon avenue and Timog avenue at 2 o’clock in the afternoon.

The 24th Luna Awards night will be held on September 16, 2006 at the Pagcor Grand Theater at the Casino Filipino in Paranaque City.

This year’s awards program will be produced by Eight Elephants Productions of Harleen Bautista and Romnick Sarmenta which was contracted by the FAP..

There will be five nominees each for 12 categories, namely, Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Production Design, Best Musical Scoring and Best Sound.

Winners of the 23rd Luna Awards are expected to read the list of nominees for the categories they won last year.

Last year’s winners are as follows:

Best Picture—Aishite Imasu of Regal Entertainment Inc.

Best Director—Joel Lamangan for Aishite Imasu

Best Screenplay—Cris Vertido for Panaghoy sa Suba

Best Actor—Dennis Trillo for Aishite Imasu

Best Actress—Claudine Barreto for Milan

Best Supporting Actor—Jay Manalo for Aishite Imasu

Best Supporting Actress—Jaclyn Jose for Naglalayag

Best Cinematography—Ely Cruz for Panaghoy sa Suba

Best Prodution Design—Joey Luna for Aishite Imasu

Best Editing—Marya Ignacio for Aisheti Imasu

Best Musical Score—Nonong Buencamino for Panaghoy sa Suba

Best Sound—Albert Michael Idioma for Feng Shui