Apr 21
NOMINATORS CAN TAKE THEIR TIME by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Apr 21, 2006

The nominators of the Film Academy of the Philippines’ Luna Awards for this year have been afforded more time to consider their final list of nominees for 11 of the 12 categories of filmic work to be recognized.

With the Luna Awards re-scheduled from May 17 to sometime in late June or early July, the nominators will have additional time in reviewing the list of possible nominees. Earlier, the citers—the first in the three tiers of reviewers who are tasked to come up with the eventual winners—have already submitted their choices.

The nominators had actually screened fifteen films in eight review days in late March and early April. Those who were not able to attend the screenings can borrow VCD or DVD copies of the cited films from the FAO secretariat.

The revised list of nominators has been released by Awards secretariat member Ana Fajardo:

Direction—Celso Ad. Castillo, Mel Chionglo, William Mayo, Elwood Perez and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna.

Screenplay—Lualhati Bautista, Manny Buising, Jose Carreon, Joen Chionglo and National Artist for Film Eddie Romero.

Cinematography—Shayne Clemente, Eduardo ‘Totoy’ Jacinto and Jun Pereira.

Editing—Renewin Alano, Ron Dale, Ferren Salumbides and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao.

Production Design—Benjie de Guzman, Edgar Martin Littaua, Joey Luna,
Manny Morfe and Merlito Santos.

Music—Tony Cortez, Willy Cruz, John Lesaca, Jesse Lucas and Blitz Padua.

Sound—Danny Lorilla, Nestor Mutia, Ramon Reyes, Albert Rima and Rolly Ruta.

The nominators are now in the process of gleaning the final nominees (five or less per category) from the cited semi-finalists submitted by the citers, which is as follows:

Direction—Joel Lamangan for Ako Legal Wife and Blue Moon; Cholo Laurel for Nasaan Ka Man; Eric Matti for Exodus; Mark Meily for La Visa Loca; Rory Quintos for Dubai; Jose Javier Reyes for Kutob; Tony Reyes for Enteng Kabisote 2; Aureaus Solito for Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros; and Dominic Zapata for Mulawin the Movie.

Best Actor—Marvin Agustin (Kutob); Hero Angeles (Can This Be Love?); John Lloyd Cruz (Dubai); Ricky Davao (Mga Pusang Gala); Eddie Garcia (Blue Moon); Christopher de Leon (Blue Moon); Nathan Lopez (Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros); Coco Martin (Masahista); Albert Martinez (Birhen ng Manaoag); Aga Muhlach (Dubai); Robin Padilla (La Visa Loca); Piolo Pascual (Dreamboy); Jericho Rosales (Nasaan Ka Man); and Dennis Trillo (Blue Moon).

Best Actress—Irma Adlawan (Mga Pusang Gala); Bea Alonzo (Dreamboy); Claudine Barretto (for Dubai and Nasaan Ka Man); Toni Gonzaga (D’Anothers); Jacklyn Jose (Masahista); Joyce Jimenez (Birhen ng Manaoag); Zsa Zsa Padilla (Ako Legal Wife); Sandara Park (Can This Be Love?); Jaycee Parker (Ilusyon); Rica Peralejo (Kutob); Rufa Mae Quinto (La Visa Loca); Boots Anson Roa (Blue Moon); Jodi Sta. Maria (Birhen ng Manaoag); and Iya Villania (Exodus).

Best Supporting Actor—Ryan Agoncillo (Kutob); Marco Alvarez (Birhen ng Manaoag); Johnny Delgado (La Visa Loca); BJ ‘Tolits’ Forbes (Ispiritista); Jhong Hilario (Nasaan Ka Man); Michael de Mesa (Dubai); Ping Medina (Ang Pagdadalaga…); Paolo Paraiso (Blue Moon); John Pratts (Ako Legal Wife); Polo Ravanes (Blue Moon); and JR Valentin (Ang Pagdadalaga…).

Best Supporting Actress—Irma Adlawan (Nasaan Ka Man); Phoemela Baranda (Dubai); Tintin Bersola (Blue Moon); Ana Capri (Kutob); Julia Clarete (Dreamboy); Hilda Koronel (Nasaan Ka Man); Jean Garcia (Birhen ng Manaoag); Bianca King (Ako Legal Wife); Pauleen Luna (Blue Moon); Jennylyn Mercado (Blue Moon); Arlene Muhlach (D’Anothers); and Dimples Romana (Dubai).

Screenplay—Dwight Gaston (Exodus); Roy Iglesias (Ako Legal Wife); Ricky Lee & Rafael Hidalgo (Nasaan Ka Man); Ricky Lee & Shaira Salvador (Dubai); Mark Meily (La Visa Loca); Boots Agbayani Pastor (Masahista); Don Michael Perez (Mulawin the Movie); Jose Javier Reyes (Kutob); Allan Tijano (Blue Moon); and Michiko Yamamoto (Ang Pagdadalaga…).

Cinematography—Ely Cruz (Enteng Kabisote); Marissa Floirendo (Ispiritista); Jay Linao & Richard Padernal (Mulawin the Movie); Rolly Manuel (Ako Legal Wife); Lee Meily (La Visa Loca); Lito Mempin (Kutob); Richard Padernal (Pinoy Blonde); Charlie Peralta (for Dubai and Nasaan Ka Man); Lyle Sacris (for Blue Moon and Exodus); and Romy Vitug (Bahay ni Lola 2).

Editing—Vito Cajili (Kutob); Alex Castañeda (Exodus); Michael de Castro (Pinoy Blonde); Manet Dayrit (Mulawin the Movie); Marya Ignacio (for Ako Legal Wife, Blue Moon, Dubai and Nasaan Ka Man); Jess Navarro (Bahay ni Lola 2); Clarence Sison and Kanakan Balintagos (Ang Pagdadalaga…); and Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Ilusyon).

Production Design—Clint Catalan, Cristina Dy & Lily Esquillon (Ang Pagdadalaga); Rodell Cruz (Mulawin the Movie); Ronnie Cruz (Bikini Open); Jon Cuyson (Nasaan Ka Man); Bianca Dadivas (Mga Pusang Gala); Roy Lachica (Pinoy Blonde); Edgar Martin Littaua (Ako Legal Wife); Joey Luna (Blue Moon); Benjamin Padero (Masahista); Richard Somes (Exodus); Willy Urbino (Kutob); and Efren Vibar (Dubai).

Music—Michael Alba (Enteng Kabisote 2); Von de Guzman (for Bahay ni Lola 2, Blue Moon and Exodus); Vincent de Jesus (for Ako Legal Wife and Let the Love Begin); Lutgardo Labad (Mulawin the Movie); Jesse Lasaten (Nasaan Ka Man); and Joy Marfil (The Mourning Girls).

Sound—Bebet Casas (Dreamboy); Albert Idioma (for Ako Legal Wife, Blue Moon, Can This Be Love?, Kutob, Let the Love Begin, Lovestruck and Mulawin the Movie); Arnold Reodica (Dubai); and Addiss Tabong (for D’Anothers, Enteng Kabisote 2, Ispiritista and Nasaan Ka Man).