Aug 09
ADDITIONAL MEMBER FOR FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Aug 9, 2011

Film Academy of the Philippines Director General Leo G. Martinez has appointed film actress/directress Gina Alajar as the eighth member of the FAP special committee that will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film of next year’s Oscar Awards.

The committee, which is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero , has the following incumbent members: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, the new FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association; Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines and Director Elwood Perez.

The now eight-man committee will soon be viewing a short list of possible nominees. To qualify, the film must have been commercially exhibited for at least seven days during the period from October 2010 to September 2011.

The committee will be going over a list of films rated A or B by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines during the prescribed period.

According to the CEB, the six films it has rated A were: RPG Metanoia, Rosario, Senior Year, Ikaw ang Pagibig, Sigwa and Paglipad ng Anghel. The last three films, however, had not yet been on a commercial run.

The B rated films included: White House, Eksena, Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote, Dalaw, Super Inday and the Magic Bibe, Bulong, My Valentine Girls, Who’s That Girl?, Catch Me…I’m in Love, TUM: My Pledge of Love, Pak! Pak! My Dr. Kwak!, Tumbok, In the name of Love, Forever and a Day, Temptation Island and Deadine (The Reign of Impunity).

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows: Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (1996); Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1997); Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1998); Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil Portes (1999);

Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos (2000); Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil Portes (2001); Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil Portes (2002); Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono (2003); Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily (2004); Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureus Solito (2006); Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix (2007); Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia (2008); Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio (2009); and Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos (2010).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at