Jul 18
NEW DIGITAL FILMS IN 2011 CINEMALAYA by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Jul 18, 2011

Four films from the Directors Showcase are among the new digital films competing in the 2011 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival on July 15 to 24, 2011.

The main competition categories are the New Breed Full Feature category, the New Breed Short Feature category featuring works by new directors. The Directors Showcase feature works by established directors.

The four finalists in the Directors Showcase are:

Bisperas (Eve) by Jeffrey Jeturian
Busong (Palawan Fate) by Auraeus Solito
Isda (Fable of the Fish) by Adolfo Alix Jr.
Patikul by Joel C. Lamangan.

The finalists of the Directors showcase each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation. The Best Film in the Directors Showcase will receive a prize of P300,000 and the Balanghai Trophy.

Competing in the New Breed Full Feature category are:

Amok by Lawrence Fajardo
Ang Babae sa Septic Tank by Chris Martinez
Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa by Alemberg Ang/ Alvin Yapan
Baby Factory by Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. and Jerome Zamora
Cuchera by Joseph Israel M. Laban and Janice O’Hara
I-libings: Your Loss, Our Luck (E-funerals) by Rommel Andreo Sales
Ligo na U, Lapit na Me by Noel Ferrer, Jerry Gracio and Erick Salud
Niño by Loy Arcenas
Teoriya by Alistaire Christian E. Chan

The nine finalists of the New Breed Full Length Feature category each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation as investment for the production. The Best Full Length Feature Film will receive a prize of P200,000 and the Balanghai Trophy. The New Breed Full Length feature category is open to Filipino filmmakers who have not yet directed more than three full feature films.

The ten finalists in the New Breed Short Feature category are:

Debut by Pamela Llanes Reyes,
Every Other Time by Gino M. Santos
Hanapbuhay by Henry Frejas,
Hazard by Mikhail Red,
Immanuel by Gabriel “Gio” Puyat,
Nino Bonito by Rommel “Milo” Tolentino.
Oliver’s Apartment by Misha Balangue,
Samarito by Rafael L. Santos,
Un Diutay Mundo by Ana Carlyn V. Lim,
Walang Katapusang Kwarto by Emerson Reyes,

The winner of the Short Feature Category will receive a prize of P100,000.00 and the Balanghai trophy.

Now on its seventh year, Cinemalaya is a project of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), Film Development Council of the Philippines and Econolink Investments, Inc. It is an all-digital film festival that aims to discover, encourage and honor cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity.

For the first time, this year’s Cinemalaya Festival will include a section called Focus Asia that will feature eight independent works by Asian directors. Other sections of the Cinemalaya are the NETPAC Philippine Premieres with eight competing films, Ani (a harvest of the best Filipino Indie Films of the past year), Kids Treats (indie films for children) and Midnight Specials (indie films with adult themes). Cinemalaya will also organize the Cinemalaya Film Congress and other film related events such as the Sine Taktakan (forum with 2011 Cinemalaya filmmakers), lectures and exhibits.

The Festival will be held in seven venues at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and at the Greenbelt 3 cinemas in Makati City. The opening ceremony is slated on July 15, 6:00 pm followed by the festival opening film at the CCP main theater. The Cinemalaya Awards Night will be held on July 24, 7:00 pm at the same venue.

For more information, please visit www.cinemalaya.org or www.culturalcenter.gov.ph or the CCP facebook page.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/