Oct 21
7TH CINEMANILA WINNERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Oct 21, 2005

Moviegoers can still catch the local video film and foreign feature film winners in the 7 th Cinemanila film festival at four theaters in Manila—namely SM Manila and SM San Lazaro, Robinson’s Place Ermita and Issetan Cinema World Quiapo.

The winners in the festival’s two categories were announced during the festival’s awards night at the Aliw Theater at the Star City complex last Wednesdday, October 19.

The winners in the video film competition of eight entries were:

Best Picture, Tuli, Viva Productions starring Desiree del Valle, Carlo Aquino, Vanna Garcia, Bembol Roco, Luis Alandy and Eugene Domingo, directed by Auraeus Solito.

Second Best Picture, Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong, Sampay Bakod Productions starring Analyn Bangsi-il, Nemee Tocdangan and Rhenuel Ordono, directed by Mes de Guzman.

Third Best Picture, Ala Verde Ala Pobre , Muchos Bravos Filmmakers starring Ana Capri and Ebong Joson, directed by Briccio Santos.

Best Director, Auraeus Solito for Tuli

Best Actress, Ana Capri for Ala Verde Ala Pobre

Best Actor, Bo Vicencio for Ala Verde Ala Pobre

Best Screenplay, Jorge Arago and Briccio Santos for Ala Verde Ala Pobre

Ishmael Bernal Award (best short film director), John Torres for Salat

Best Short Film, Salat

The winners in the international competition were:

Lino Brocka Award (Best Picture), President’s Last Bang , directed by Sang-soo Im of Korea

Grand Jury Prize, In Casablanca , Angels Don’t Fly , directed by Mohamed Asli of Morocco

Best Actor, Krystyna Feldman for My Nikifor of Poland

Best Actress, Fatoumada Coilibaly for Moolaade of Senegal

Best Documentary, Children of Leningradsky , directed by Hanna Polak of Poland

Kim Dong Ho, festival director of the Pusan International Film Festival was given a Lifetime Achievement award by Manila Mayor Lito Atienza and Festival Director Tikoy Aguiluz.

A tribute was bestowed on Yonfan and the rising star awardee was Teresa Cheung.