Jul 12
FAP HONORS 29TH LUNA AWARDS WINNERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Jul 12, 2011

The Film Academy of the Philippines picked Emir as the best picture of 2010 during the 29th FAP Luna Awards rites at the Quezon City Sports Club on Sunday night, July 10.

Awards in 11 other individual categories were distributed even as announced winners of the 27th Luna Awards (for film achievements in 2008) finally got their trophies—better late than never—in the same occasion

Director Mark Meily and Production Designer Joey Luna

Other winners were as follows:

Best Direction—Chito S. Rono for Emir
Best Actor—Dolphy for Father Jejemon
Best Actress—Lorna Tolentino for Sa ‘Yo Lamang
Best Supporting Actor—Yul Servo for Rosario
Best Supporting Actress—Anne Curtis for In Your Eyes
Best Screenplay—Elmer Gatchalian for Rosario

Best Cinematography—A tie between Neil Daza & Lee Meily for Emir and Carlo Mendoza for Rosario
Best Production Design—Joey Luna for Rosario
Best Editing—Jerrold Tarog for Emir
Best Music—Albert Chang for Rosario
Best Sound—Connie Valdriz, Sandy Aguinaldo, Lynnel de Mesa & Ronald de Asis for RPG Metanoia

DG Martinez and MTRCB Chairwoman Grace Poe-Llamanzares hand the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award trophy to Ms. Armida Siguion-Reyna

The five special awards given during the ceremonies were: the Golden Reel Award to Congresswoman Imelda Romualdez-Marcos; the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award to Armida Siguion-Reyna; the Manuel de Leon Special Recognition Award to cinematographer Romy Vitug; and the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Awards to Chiquito and Paquito Diaz.

Cinematographer Romy Vitug with his Manuel de Leon Special Recognition Award trophy

Ms. Siguion-Reyna and Vitug personally accepted their awards while the posthumous award for Chiquito was received by his daughter Ely ‘Bukol’ Villar.

Plaques of appreciation were also given by the academy to Quezon City Mayor Herbert ‘Bistek’ M. Bautista, Makati Mayor Jejomar Erwin S. Binay and Senator Kiko Pangilinan for their financial assistance to the FAP through the two city’s remittance of the FAP’s 20% share in the cultural tax retroactive to as far back as the mid-90s and the senator’s allocation of P1 million from his Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF).

Makati Councilor Toscar Puno-Ramos, daughter of Rico J., received the plaque for Mayor Binay.

Winners of the 27th Luna Awards: Philip Salvador, Mylene Dizon and Aped Santos

Also on hand to receive their Luna trophies were the winners of the 27th Luna Awards. The list of winners included the following:

Best Picture—Baler, Viva Films & BIDA Foundation
Best Director—Mark Meily, Baler
Best Actor—Christopher de Lon, Magkaibigan
Best Actress—Mylene Dizon, 100
Best Supporting Actor—Philip Salvador, Baler
Best Supporting Actress—Iza Calzado, One True Love
Best Screenplay—Roy Iglesias, Baler
Best Cinematography—Tie between Lee Meily, Baler, and Charlie Peralta, Ploning
Best Editing—Jess Navarro, Torotot
Best Production Design—Aped Santos, Baler
Best Sound—Ditoy Aguila, Baler
Best Music Score—Vincent de Jesus, Baler

Only actor De Leon, actress Ms. Calzado and scorer de Jesus failed to attend the awarding ceremonies.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/