Jul 12
FAP COMMITTEE CHOOSES RP NOMINEE FOR OSCAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Jul 12, 2011

A special seven-man committee of the Film Academy of the Philippines headed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film of next year’s Oscar Awards.

To qualify, the film must have been commercially exhibited for at least seven days during the period from October 2010 to September 2011.

The committee will be going over a list of films rated A or B by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines during the prescribed period. This includes 6 A rated films and 16 B rated films.

Up to the July 6 playdate, a total of 57 local films were exhibited commercially. Thirty-six of these films were digital films.

According to the CEB, the six films it has rated A were: RPG Metanoia, Rosario, Senior Year, Ikaw ang Pagibig, Sigwa and Paglipad ng Anghel. The last three films, however, had not yet been on a commercial run.

The B rated films included: White House, Eksena, Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote, Dalaw, Super Inday and the Magic Bibe, Bulong, My Valentine Girls, Who’s That Girl?, Catch Me…I’m in Love, TUM: My Pledge of Love, Pak! Pak! My Dr. Kwak!, Tumbok, In the name of Love, Forever and a Day, Temptation Island and Deadine (The Reign of Impunity).

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows:

1996—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna

1997—Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Gil Portes

1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya

1999—Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil Portes

2000—Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos

2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil Portes

2002—Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil Portes

2003—Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono

2004—Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily

2005—no entry

2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureaus Solito

2007—Donsol (Bicycle Productions) diected by Adolf Alix

2008—Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia

2009—Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio

2010—Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/