Oct 07
MANILA TO HOST CINEMANILA 2005 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Oct 7, 2005

The city of Manila will host this year’s Cinemanila International Film Festival with the theme Buhayin ang Pelikulang Pilipino from October 12 to 25.

At the recent meeting of the festival’s executive committee, Manila Mayor Lito Atienza stressed that the main aim of Cinemanila 2005 is to help revive the ailing local film industry.

Film Director Tikoy Aguiluz, the festival director, explained that the 7 th Cinemanila will be different from the six earlier festivals since this year’s entries will have a stronger local counterpart. He added that the festival will still follow its objectives of promoting Filipino films to world cinema audiences and in turn promoting world cinema to Filipino audiences, as well as developing new and independent local filmmakers. For this year, local productions would be given more encouragement and focus, according to Director Aguiluz..

Mayor Atienza has issued Executive Order No. 07 creating the Executive Committee for the Cinemanila International Film Festival 2005 to be composed of the mayor as the chairman, with Councilor Kim Atienza, Councilor Martin Isidro Jr., Secretary to the Mayor Atty. Emmanuel Sison, City Treasurer Liberty M. Toledo, City Administrator Gaudencio Nable, Oficer-in-Charge of the City Engineer’s Office Engr. Armando Andres, City Assessor Mercedes Catiil, City Legal Officer Melchor Monsod, Bojo Sta. Maria of the media affairs bureau and Jason Valencia, officer-in-charge of the youth development and welfare bureau, as members.

Other executive committee members include Director Aguiluz, founding director of Cinemanila, Leo Martinez, director general of the Film Academy of the Philippines, Prof. Gigi Alfonso of the University of the Philippines, Ric Camaligan of SM Prime Holdings, Wilson Tieng of MPDAP/Solar Films, Christine Dayrit of the Cinema Evaluation Board;

Boy Abundia of ABS-CBN, Michael Go of Robinson’s Movieworld, Nestor Jardin, CCP president, Marcus Ng of MMTA, Manuel Nuqui, PMPPA president, June Torrejon of PAMI, and Dr. Benjamin Tayabas, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila president.

Director Aguiluz also announced that Cinemanila 2005 will provide more focus on the digital film component of the festival. Nanding Josef of the Cultural Center of the Philippines postively responded to this decision as he said that the people are already craving for intelligent and non-commercial films.

There will be a Digital Film Competition which will choose three grand winners. The best digital film will receive P1.5 million, the second prize winner P1 million and the third prize winner P750, 000. The directors of the seven other finalists will each receive P100,000.

To be eligible for participation, the film must be produced after January 2004 in digital format (either DV, HD, 24P or HDV) and must fulfill the following conditions:

• It must be directed by a Filipino citizen.

• It must not have been exhibited commercially, locally or internationally and in any screening that involves ticket selling.

• It must not have been exhibited as an entry in prior local festivals.

• It should at least be 80 minutes or up to a maximum of 130 minutes in length, including credits.

• It may be in Filipino or any regional dialect with English subtitles.

Inquiries regarding the festival can be forwarded to The Cinemanila International Film Festival Secretariat at the Manila Tourism Office, Room 137, Manila City Hall, telephone numbers 528-1134 and 527-5185. Contact Ms. Tammy Tamayo or Ms. Anna Magbitang. The email is manila_tourism@yahoo.com or miff@cinemanila.com.ph Official Website is www.cinemanila.com.ph.