Nov 25
NEW NAME FOR FAP by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Nov 25, 2005

After almost 25 years, a move to change the name of the Film Academy of the Philippines is set in motion when the academy’s board of governors unanimously passed a resolution to this effect.

The new name for the academy will be Motion Pictures Academy of the Philippines which can use either MOPAP or MPAP for its initials.

In the BOG meeting on November 24, Director William Mayo, president of the Kapisanan ng nga Direktor ng Pelikulang Pilipino proposed the name change. He reasoned out that in India , where he attended a seminar-conference on the motion pictures industry with Directors Emmanuel Borlaza and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna, films and television are lumped together in just one industry.

Director Mayo explained that with the use of the term motion pictures will not only cover cinematographic film presentations but also television, digital full length features, commercials, documentaries, short films and even animated features and all other moving images.

The proposal was accepted unanimously by the board members present.

FAP Chairman Espiridion Laxa said that the FAP will ask Malacanang how to go about the planned change of name and will seek a legal opinion on this matter.

The academy was created through Executive Order No. 640-A by President Ferdinand E. Marcos on January 5, 1981.

The executive order’s heading reads: Prescribing guidelines to promote and enhance the preservation, growth and development of the motion picture art and science in the Philippines .

Section 1 of the executive order declares it a government policy “to provide support and assistance to the motion picture industry in the country, specifically for the purpose of achieving sound, effective and progressive integration and correlation of the business, economic and commercial functions and operations of the said industry, thereby making the motion picture industry a truly dynamic and vigorous instrument for national cultural growth and development and vital social institution which will enhance the artistic as well as scientific heritage of the nation.”

The basic function of the FAP, according to the executive order, shall be to give due recognition, awards distinction, appreciation and other forms of reward for significant efforts and accomplishments of the improvement and development of the motion picture art and science in the country.

The academy is tasked to maintain educational programs, scholarships, grants and other forms of and/or assistance, through which qualified and deserving persons with exceptional talent and ability in the film arts shall be afforded better opportunities for further development. This is intended to further professionalize the motion picture industry through the formation of representative guilds in the industry’s various creative and technical sectors.

The academy also assists in the staging and managing of the annual Metro Manila Film Festival from which proceeds the FAP gets a share or percentage.

Delegates to foreign film festivals are primarily sent thru the intercession of the academy.

The FAP also spearheads the collaboration of the movie industry with government agencies in order to gain opportunities for the guilds and their members.

Foreign productions wishing to shoot films in the country have to secure a clearance from the FAP for its favorable recommendation to the Bureau of Immigration. In return, the academy will provide all assistance required by the foreign producers, from securing location permits, equipment rentals, hiring talents and even accommodations and trustworthy guides.

At present there are 14 guilds or organizations under the umbrella leadership of the FAP. These are: the Movie Workers Welfare Foundation Inc. (MOWELFUND) with Ms. Boots Anson-Roa as executive director; the Philippine Motion Picture Producers Association, Inc. (PMPPA), Manuel M. Nuqui, president; the Movie Producers Distributors Association of the Philippines (MPDA), Wilson Y. Tieng, president;

Katipunan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon (KAPPT), Mayor Jeorge E. R. Ejercito, president; Kapisanan ng mga Direktor ng Pelikulang Pilipino (KDPP), Director William Mayo, president; Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines (SGP), Pablo S. Gomez, president; Filipino Society of Cinematographers (FSC), Isagani Sioson, president;

United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines (UFEG), Jess Navarro, president; Production Designers’ Guild of the Philippines (PDGP), Manny Morfe, president; United Film Musical Directors Association of the Philippines (UFIMDAP), Josefino Cenizal, president;

Sound Technicians Association for Motion Picture (STAMP), Rollie R. Ruta, president;

Film Assistant Directors & Production Managers Guild of the Philippines , Antonio D. Ramos, president; Actors Workshop Foundation, Johnny Delgado, chairman; and the Organization of Specialized Filipino Filmmakers (OSFILM), Zahn Garduce, president.