Jun 24
29TH Luna Awards: Periscoping the Nominees by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jun 24, 2011

The voters of the Film Academy of the Philippines had finally cast their ballots, with the last voters beating the Friday (June 24) deadline. Most voted on Thursday, June 16 at the UP Film enter after the screening of the last film for review.

It appears that it’s all systems go for the announcement of the final winners in the 12 categories during the awards night scheduled on Sunday, July 10 which will be held at the Quezon City Sports Club., Inc. on E. Rodriguez Sr. boulevard, Quezon City.

Scanning the final list of nominees, it is immediately apparent that there are more would-be first-time winners than repeat winners though all categories are represented by at least one previous Luna trophy holder.

Let us review the categories one by one.

Best Direction

The nominees are Joel C. Lamangan, Sagrada Familia; Gil M. Portes, Two Funerals; Chito S. Rono, Emir; and Dondon S. Santos, Noy.

Of the four nominees, only Lamangan has a Luna trophy tucked under his arm—actually five trophies in a bunch which he won for the following films: Pangako ng Kahapon (1994), The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995), Bulaklak ng Maynila (1999), Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004) and Blue Moon (2005).

Best Actor

The nominees are Dolphy, Father Jejemon; Christopher de Leon, Sa ‘Yo Lamang; Sid Lucero, Muli; Coco Martin, Noy; and Fanny Serrano, Tarima

Like in the director’s category, only one nominee had won the Luna before—Christopher de Leon who won four trophies for Biktima (1990), Ipagpatawad Mo (1991), Bulaklak ng Maynila (1999) and Magkaibigan (2008).

Best Actress

The nominees are Ai-Ai de las Alas, Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin (Last na To); Claudine Barretto, in Your Eyes; Jennylyn Mercado, Rosario; Judy Ann Santos, Hating Kapatid; and Lorna Tolentino, Sa ‘Yo Lamang

There are actually three Luna trophy holders pitted against two would-be first-timer. Lorna Tolentino had already amassed three trophies for Maging Akin Ka Lamang (1987), Narito ang Puso Ko (1992) and Abakada Ina (2001) while Judy Ann Santos and Claudine Barretto already won once for Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (2006) and Milan (2004) respectively.

Best Supporting Actor

The nominees are Joem Bascon, Noy; Dolphy, Rosario; Sid Lucero, Rosario; Yul Servo, Rosario; and Dennis Trillo, Rosario.

There will undoubtedly be a first-time winner in this category inasmuch as all nominees have not won any trophy in this category though Dennis Trillo was awarded the best actor in 2004 for Aishite Imasu 1941.

Best Supporting Actress

The nominees are Anne Curtis, in Your Eyes; Eugene Domingo, Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin (Last na To); Cherry Pie Picache, Noy; and Gloria Romero, Tarima.

Two previous winners will fight it out with two who will be attempting to bag their first Luna trophy. The previous winners are Gloria Romero who has already two Lunas on her shelf as best actress for Tanging Yaman in 2000 and best supporting actress for Magnifico in 2003 while Cherry Pie Picache already owns a best supporting actress Luna for Ameican Adobo in 2002.

Best Screenplay

The nominees are Ricardo Lee, Anna Karenina Ramos & Ralph Jacinto Quiblat, Sa ‘Yo Lamang; Elmer Gatchalian, Rosario; Jerry Gracio, Emir; Shugo Praico, Noy; and Enrique V. Ramos, Two Funerals

Another five-time winner tries to ward off four young scriptwriters though this time he is nominated with two other writers. Ricky Lee has already five Lunas for the following original screenplays: Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina? (1990), Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M. (1991), Pangako ng kahapon (1994), Bulaklak ng Maynila (1999) and Anak (2000).

Best Cinematography

The nominees are Neil Daza & Lee Meily, Emir; Jay Linao, You to Me are Everything; Carlo Mendoza, Rosario; Charlie Peralta, Babe, I Love You; and Manuel Teehankee, Miss You Like Crazy.

Two of the nominees had already won once—Charlie Peralta for Nasaan Ka Man in 2005 and Lee Meily for Baler in 2008.

It will be an interesting and tight fight among the five nominees in this category.

Best Production Design

The nominees are Cyrus Khan, Tarima; Joey Luna, Rosario; Benjamin Padero, Shake, Rattle & Roll (Punerarya episode); and Digo Ricio, Emir.

It is again a situation where a multi-time winner is pitted against three colleagues trying to snare their first-ever Luna. Joey Luna has previous Lunas for Mumbaki (1996), Death Row (2000) and Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004).

Best Editing

The nominees are Renewin B. Alano, Dalaw; Renewin B. Alano, Noy; Marya Ignacio, Ang Tanging Ina mo Rin (Last na To); Efren Jarlego, Sa ‘Yo Lamang; and Jerrold Tarog, Emir.

There are only two trophy-holders in this category—Marya Ignacio for Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004) and Nasaan Ka Man (2005) and Efren Jarlego for Ipagpatawad Mo (1996).

Best Music

The nominees are Albert Chang, Rosario; Von de Guzman, In Your Reyes; and Jessie Lasaten, Miss You Like Crazy.

Only one of the three nominees has a Luna tucked under his arm, Von de Guzman for Blue Moon (2005).

Best Sound

The nominees are Nolet Clemente, The Red Shoes (A Love Story); Ross Diaz, Noy; Addis Tabong & Mike Idioma, Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote; Connie Valdriz, Sandy Aguinaldo, Lynnel de Mesa & Ronald de Asis, RPG Metanoia.

The tandem of Addis Tabong & Albert Michael Idioma are the only previous winners. Idioma won for Malikmata (2003) and Feng Shui (2004) while Tabong won for Nasaan Ka Man (2005).