May 20
LUNA AWARDS VOTERS PREVIEWS SCHEDULED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 20, 2011

The Luna Awards secretariat has released a tentative schedule for the final viewing of nominated films by Luna Awards voters to prepare for the June 18 Awards night to recognize distinguished achievements in 2010.

The voters’ viewing will cover a total of eight days on a Tuesday to Friday skeds for two consecutive weeks. The first week will be from May 31 to June 3 and the second week will be from June 7 to 10.

FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez has sent a letter-request to Prof. Eduardo Lejano Jr., UP Film Institute Director, regarding the availability of the UP Film Center theater for the aforementioned schedule.

Most Luna Awards nominators have already submitted their final nominees for the 29th Luna Awards. Like the citers, the academy nominators will be a peers-judge-their-peers system, meaning directors will choose the nominees for best direction, and so down the line. The academy voters will finally vote on the winners and will cover all categories, including best picture.

The best picture nominees will be the films with the most number of nominations in the categories, provided they are nominated either for best direction and/or best screenplay.

The official best 10 lists of citers are as follows:

Wenn V. Deramas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Joel C. Lamangan (Sagrada Familia); Albert Martinez (Rosario); Gil M. Portes (Two Funerals); Jose Javier Reyes (Working Girls); Maryo J. de los Reyes (I’ll Be There); Tony Y. Reyes (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); Chito S. Rono (Emir); and Dondon S. Santos (Dalaw) and (Noy).

Gerald Anderson (Paano na Kaya); Dolphy (Father Jejemon); Emilio Garcia (Sagrada Familia); Richard Gutierrez (In Your Eyes); Christopher de Leon (Sa ‘Yo Lamang); Sid Lucero (Muli) and (Punerarya episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 12); Coco Martin (Noy); Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); and Fanny Serrano (Tarima).

Carla Abellana (Punerarya episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 12); Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Kris Aquino (Dalaw); Claudine Barretto (In Your Eyes); Jennylyn Mercado (Rosario); Lovi Poe (Sagrada Familia); Judy Ann Santos (Hating Kapatid); Jody Sta. Maria (Paa episode of Cinco); and Lorna Tolentino (Sa ‘Yo Lamang).

Supporting Actor
Joem Bascon (Noy); Gabby Concepcion (I’ll Be There); Mon Confiado (Two Funerals) and (Babae sa Sementeryo); Ricky Davao (Working Girls); Dolphy (Rosario); Cogie Domingo (Muli); Sid Lucero (Rosario); Yul Servo (Rosario); and Dennis Trillo (Rosario).

Supporting Actress
Anne Curtis (In Your Eyes); Gloria Diaz (Sagrada Familia); Eugene Domingo (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Dulce (Emir); Gina Pareno (Dalaw); Isabel Oli (Rosario); Cherry Pie Picache (Noy); Maja Salvador (Father Jejemon); Snooky Serna (Sagrada Familia); and Gloria Romero (Tarima).

Aloy Adlawan (You To Me are Everything); Aloy Adlawan & Rona Lean Sares (Punerarya episode of Shake, Rattle and Roll 12); Keiko A. Aquino (In Your Eyes); Elmer Gatchalian (Rosario); Jerry Gracio (Emir); Ricardo Lee (Sa ‘Yo Lamang); Shugo Praico (Noy); Enrique V. Ramos (Two Funerals); and Mel Mendoza-del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin) and (Hating Kapatid).

Rodolfo Aves Jr. (Till My Heartaches End); Arvin Bustos (Tarima); Neil Daza and Lee Meily (Emir); Jay Linao (You To Me Are Everything); Lito Mempin (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); Carlo Mendoza (Rosario); Charlie Peralta (Babe, I Love You); Sherman Philip So (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Manuel Teehankee (Miss You Like Crazy); and Renato de Vera (Babae sa Sementeryo).

Production Design
Abet Alvarez (Father Jejemon); Danny Cristobas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Jens Peter Gaw (Sagrada Familia); Cyrus Khan (Tarima); Roy Lachica (Super Inday and the Super Bibe); Joey Luna (Rosario); Arthur Nicdao (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); Benjamin Padero (Punerarya episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 12): Digo Rico (Emir); and Mark Sabas (Isla Engkanto episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 12).

Renewin Alano (Dalaw), (Noy) and (Shake, Rattle & Roll 12); Chrisel Desuasido (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); Marya Ignacio (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin), (Miss You Like Crazy) and (Paano na Kaya); Efren Jarlego (Father Jejemon); Jerrold Tarog (Emir); and John Wong (Rosario).

Carmina Cuya (Noy); Albert Chang (Rosario); Vince de Jesus (Hating Kapatid); Von de Guzman (In Your Eyes); Jessie Lasaten (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin), (Miss You Like Crazy) and (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); Jesse Lucas (Till My Heartaches End); Josefino ‘Chino’ Toledo (Emir); and Mon del Rosario (Father Jejemon).

Aurel Bilbao (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin); Nolet Clemente (The Red Shoes); Ross Diaz (Noy); Albert Michael Idioma (I”ll Be There); Warren Santiago (Rosario); Addis B. Tabong & Albert Michael Idioma (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote); and Connie Valdriz (RPG Metanoia).

During the 29th Luna Awards rites, the Academy will give out four special awards.

Former First Lady and now Congresswoman Imelda R, Marcos will be given the Golden Reel Award while Ms. Armida Siguion-Reyna will get the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Eight-time Luna awardee for cinematography Romy Vitug will be given the Manuel de Leon Special Recognition Award for technical excellence while the late comedian-producer-politician Chiquito and Paquito Diaz will be this year’s recipients of the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award.

The last special awards were given during the 26th Luna Awards held to honor distinguished achievements for the year 2007 at the Mandarin Oriental Suites, Gateway Mall, Cubao, Q.C., on Feb. 8,2009.

The Golden Reel Award was given to Former President Joseph Ejercito Estrada while the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award was received by Ms. Boot-Anson-Roa.

The Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award was bestowed on sound mixer Juanito B. Clemente while the Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements was given to producer-director Cirio Santiago.

The Academy’s lifetime achievement award was renamed the FPJ Lifetime Achievement ward in 2005 and its first recipient was Producer Marichu Maceda. In 2006, the awardees were former Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. and scriptwriter Pablo S. Gomez while the 2007 awardees were actor-producer Rudy Fernandez and Director Celso Ad. Castillo.

Previous winners of the Golden Reel Award were Former President Cory Aquino, Fernando Poe Jr. and President Estrada.

The Manuel de Leon Special Recognition awardees in 2006 were ABS-CBN chairperson Charo Santos-Concio and MPIDAP President and Solar Films head Wilson Tieng.

Other recipients of the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award were Nida Blanca and Goerge Canseco in 2006 and Manuel Conde and Vic Silayan in 2007.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at