May 06
FOUR SPECIAL AWARDS ON 29TH LUNA RITES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 6, 2011

The Film Academy of the Philippines will give out four special awards during the 29th Luna Awards rites which will be held on Saturday, June 18.

Former First Lady and now Congresswoman Imelda R. Marcos will be given the Golden Reel Award while Ms. Armida Siguion-Reyna will get the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Eight-time Luna awardee for cinematography Romy Vitug will be given the Manuel de Leon Special Recognition Award for technical excellence while the late comedian-producer-politician Chiquito and Paquito Diaz will be this year’s recipients of the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award.

The awardees were selected during a special board of governors meeting last Thursday, May 5, at the Academy office where voting was held.

The last special awards were given during the 26th Luna Awards held to honor distinguished achievements for the year 2007 at the Mandarin Oriental Suites, Gateway Mall, Cubao, Q.C., on Feb. 8,2009.

The Golden Reel Award was given to Former President Joseph Ejercito Estrada while the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award was received by
Ms. Boot-Anson-Roa.

The Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award was bestowed on sound mixer Juanito B. Clemente while the Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements was given to producer-director Cirio Santiago.

The Academy’s lifetime achievement award was renamed the FPJ Lifetime Achievement ward in 2005 and its first recipient was Producer Marichu Maceda. In 2006, the awardees were former Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. and scriptwriter Pablo S. Gomez while the 2007 awardees were actor-producer Rudy Fernandez and Director Celso Ad. Castillo.

Previous winners of the Golden Reel Award were Former President Cory Aquino, Fernando Poe Jr. and President Estrada.

The Manuel de Leon Special Recognition awardees in 2006 were ABS-CBN chairperson Charo Santos-Concio and MPIDAP President and Solar Films head Wilson Tieng.

Other recipients of the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award were Nida Blanca and Goerge Canseco in 2006 and Manuel Conde and Vic Silayan in 2007.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at