May 06
MORE FIRST TIME WINNERS IN 29TH LUNA AWARDS? by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 6, 2011

Expect several first-time winners in this year’s 29th Luna Awards. Odds are great that there will be first-time awardees in the 11 individual categories.

This fact crops up while combing through the official ten-best lists of the academy citers. These lists are now being reviewed by the nominators who will come up with the final nominees. Then the academy voters take over after the nominations are firmly in place.

Let us now play the guessing game, category by category.


The citers’ list for sound includes two previous winners and five others seeking their first trophy. The winners are Albert Michael Idioma (Feng Shui, 03 and 04) and Addis B. Tabong (Nasaan Ka Man, 05). Vying to snare their first trophy are Aurel Bilbao, Nolet Clemente, Ross Diaz, Warren Santiago and Connie Valdriz.

Since the onset of the new century to the year 2008, there had been six first time winners: Noel Bruan (Abakada Ina, 01), Danny Lorilla (Lapu-Lapu, 02), Idioma (Malikmata, 03), Tabong (Nasaan Ka Man, 05), Angie Reyes (Till I Met You, 06) and Ditoy Aguila (Ouija, 07).

Musical Score

Three previous winners and five other possible nominees make up the citers’ list. The winners are Von de Guzman (Blue Moon, 05), Vincent de Jesus (Zsazsa Saturnah, 06 and Baler, 08) and Carmina Robles Cuya (Ouija, 07). They will vie against Albert Chang, Jessie Lasaten, Jesse Lucas, Josefino ‘Chino’ Toledo and Mon del Rosario.

Since 2000, there had been five first-time winners in this category, namely: Blitz Padua (Parehas ang Laban, 01), Lutgardo Labad (Magnifico, 03), de Guzman (Blue Moon, 05), de Jesus (ZsaZsa Saturnah, 06) and Cuya (Ouija, 07).


Two winners face the challenge of four other editors. The winners are Marya Ignacio (Aishite Imasu 1941, 04 and Nasaan Ka Man, 05) and Efren Jarlego (Ipagpatawad Mo, 91). Would-be first timers are Renewin Alano, Chrisel Desuasido, Jerrold Tarrog and John Wong.

From 2000-2008, there had been only three first-time winners: Francis Vinarao (Diskarte, 02), Vito Cajili (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, 06) and Ignacio (Aishite Imasu 1941, 04).

Production Design

There is surely a mark turnover of designers as only one previous winner is in the citers’ list—Joey Luna (Mumbaki, 96 and Aishite Imasu 1941, 04). He is up against nine others: Abet Alvarez, Danny Cristobas, Jens Peter Gaw, Cyrus Khan, Roy Lachica, Arthur Nicdao, Benjamin Padero, Digo Rico and Mark Sabas.

There had been five first-time winners since 2000: Judy Lou Pio (Bagong Buwan, 01), Rodell Cruz (Mano po 2, 03), Richard Somes (Exodus, 05), Chito Sumera (Eternity, 06) and Aped Santos (Baler, 08).


Four previous winners and seven possible winning newcomers. Previous trophy-snarers are Charlie Peralta (Nasaan Ka Man, 05), Jay Linao (Eternity, 06), Renato de Vera (Ataul for Rent, 07) and Lee Meily (Baler, 08). The challengers are Rodolfo Aves Jr., Arvin Bustos, Neil Daza, Lito Mempin, Carlo Mendoza, Sherman Philip So and Manuel Teehankee.

For seven consecutive years since 2002, this category saw all first-time winners. These included: Shayne Clemente (Kailangan Kita), Jay Tadena (Mano Po 2), Ely Cruz (Panaghoy sa Suba), Peralta, Linao, de Vera and Meily.


Two winners and seven would-be winners. The winners are Ricky Lee (Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina?, 90, Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M, 91, Pangako ng Kahapon, 94, Bulaklak ng Maynila, 99 and Anak, 2000) and Mel Mendoza-del Rosario (Wanted: Perfect Mother, 96).

This category overshadowed the cinematography category as first-time winners emerged for nine consecutive years. In order of year they won, they were Shaira Salvador (Abakada Ina), Jerry Tirazona (Lapu-Lapu), Michiko Yamamoto (Magnifico), Cris Vertido (Panaghoy sa Suba), Allan Tijamo (Blue Moon), Jose Javier Reyes & Mary Ann Bautista (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo), Vanessa R. Valdez (A Love Story) and Roy Iglesias (Baler).

Supporting Actress

Three previous winners and seven aspiring first-timers. The winners are Cherry Pie Picache (American Adobo, 02), Gloria Romero (Magnifico, 03) and Gina Pareno (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, 06). They will be up against Anne Curtis, Gloria Diaz, Eugene Domingo, Dulce, Maja Salvador and Snooky Serna.

The years between 2002 and 2008 were marked by six first-time winners: Picache (2002), Romero (2003), Hilda Koronel (Nasaan Ka Man, 05), Pareno (2006), Angelica Panganiban (A Love Story, 07) and Iza Calzado (One True Love, 08).

Supporting Actor

Just one previous winner and seven possible first-time trophy-getters. Only Ricky Davao won before in 1995 (Ipaglaban Mo). He will be vying against Joem Bascon, Gabby Concepcion, Mon Confiado, Dolphy, Cogie Domingo, Sid Lucero, Yul Servo and Dennis Trillo.

This category saw first-time winners from 2000 to 2005. They were Pen Medina (Death Row), Dante Rivero (Tuhog), Piolo Pascual (Dekada ’70), Eric Quizon (Crying Ladies), Jay Manalo (Aishite Imasu 1941) and Johnny Delgado (La Visa Loca). In 2008, multi-best actor awardee Philip Salvador bagged his first ever supporting trophy for Baler.


Three winners and seven first-trophy aspirants. The winners are Lorna Tolentino (Maging Akin Ka Lamang, 87, Narito ang Puso Ko, 92 and Abakada Ina, 01), Claudine Barretto (Milan, 04) and Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, 06). The challengers are Carla Abellana, Ai-Ai de las Alas, Kris Aquino, Jennylyn Mercado, Lovi Poe and Jody Sta. Maria.

Since 2000, there had been four first-time winners—Gloria Romero (Tanging Yaman, 2000), Barretto (2004), Santos (2006) and Mylene Dizon (100, 08).


Just one lonely ex-winner and eight challengers. The winner is none other than Christopher de Leon (Biktima, 90, Ipagpatawad Mo, 91, Bulaklak ng Maynila, 99 and Magkaibigan, 08). His challengers are Gerald Anderson, Dolphy, Emilio Garcia, Richard Gutierrez, Sid Lucero, Coco Martin, Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr, and Fanny Serrano.

The best actor winners from 2000 to 2007 were all first-timers. They were Eddie Garcia (Death Row), Ricky Davao (Minsan May Isang Puso), Lito Lapid (Lapu-Lapu), Jiro Manio (Magnifico), Dennis Trillo (Aishite Imasu 1941), Marvin Agustin (Kutob), John Lloyd Cruz (All About Love) and Paolo Contis (Banal).


There are three previous winners—Joel Lamangan (Pangako ng Kahapon, 94, The Flor Contemplacion Story, 95, Bulaklak ng Maynila, 99, Aishite Imasu 1941, 04 and Blue Moon, 05), Maryo J. de los Reyes (Magnifico, 03 and A Love Story, 07) and Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, 06). The other possible nominees are Wenn V. Deramas, Albert Martinez, Gil M. Portes, Tony Y. Reyes, Chito S. Rono and Dondon S. Santos.

Since 2000, there had been five first-time best directors and these were Laurice Guillen (Tanging Yaman, 2000), William Mayo (Lapu-Lapu, 02), de los reyes (Magnifico, 03), Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, 06) and Mark Meily (Baler, 08).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at