Apr 29
29TH LUNA SPECIAL AWARDS SELECTED MAY 5 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Apr 29, 2011

The board of governors of the Film Academy of the Philippines will finalize on Thursday, May 5, the winners of four special awards to be given during the 29th edition of the awards scheduled in May.

The awards include the Golden Reel, the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award, the Manuel de Leon Special Recognition Award and the Lamberto Avellana Posthumous Award.

In its last meeting on April 19, the BOG decided ion a short listof nominees for the four awards. The nominees are:

Golden Reel
* Actor-Producer Dolphy
* National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero
* Rep. Imelda Romualdez-Marcos,

FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award
* Director William Mayo
* Director-Editor Augusto Salvador
* Actress-Producer Armida Siguion-Reyna
* Cinematographer Romy Vitug.

Manuel de Leon Special Recognition—same nominees as FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Lamberto Avellana Posthumous Award
* Cinematographer Joe Batac
* Comedian-Producer Chiquito
* Actor Paquito Diaz
* Producer-Director Manuel Nuqui
* Comedian Dencio Padilla
* Editor Cielito Santillan
* Actor Ace Vergel.

The last winners of these awards, last given in 2008, were:

Golden Reel—Former Pres. Joseph ‘Erap’ E. Estrada
FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award—Boots Anson-Roa
Manuel de Leon Special Recognition—Cirio Santiago/director, producer
Lamberto Avellana Posthumous Award—Juanito Clemente/sound man

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/