Apr 08
EXECOM EXPANDS SCREENING COMMITTEE FOR 2011 MMFF-P by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Apr 8, 2011

The screening committee for this year’s entries to the 2011 Metro Manila Filmfest will be expanded to 15 members. This was decided upon by the Executive Committee of the 2011 MMFF-P in a meeting last Wednesday, April 6.

The members of the screening committee who chose last year’s entries were retained. They are Corazon Cruz, Julie Borje, Ric Camaligan, Marcus Ng, Dominic Du, Victor Villegas, Marietta Tamondong, Joey Romero, Bayani San Diego, Digna Santiago, Wilson Tieng and Robert Rivera.

The Office of the Presdent has nominated Jennifer Anne Z. Lazo to the screening committee this year through a letter of Presidential Spokesman Edwin Lacierda to MMDA Chairman Francis N. Tolentino.

The 2011 MMFF-P was officially launched by Chairman Tolentino last March 11, at the roof deck of the EMAR Suites Event Hall on 1409 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong.

Producers and possible participants in the 2011 MMFF-P have up to May 31, 2011 to submit scripts of their entries with the the main casts and directors included.

Eight films will be featured in the MMFF-P while seven films—three feature-length films and four short films—will make up the side festival that will show films adapted from literary works of Filipino authors taught in elementary, high school and college levels. To be called the Pelikulang Pampanitikan, the films will source literary works, like folklore and legends, poetry, short stories, novels, etc.

Meanwhile, the Execom named Mrs. Marichu Vera Perez-Maceda to replace Manuel Nuqui who passed away last March 3.

The present Execom is now headed by the following officers: Atty. Francis Tolentino, chairman; Mayor Herbert ‘Bistek’ Bautista, co-chairman for LGUs; Jesse Ejercito, executive vice-chairman; Mark Meily, vice-chairman.

Members of the Execom are the following:

Edinison Fainsan, Atty. Nomie Ilagan, GM Corazon Jimenez, Lydia Domingo; MTRCB Chairwoman Grace Poe-Lamanzares; Leo Martinez of the Film Academy of the Philippines; Boots Anson Roa of Mowelfund; Roesholm Camaligan of the Motion Pictures Anti-Film Piracy Council; Wilson Tieng of MPDAP; Dominic Du of GMTA; and Marcus Ng of MMTA.

The MMFF-P has six working sub-committees, namely the committees on Selection; Finance, Rules and Regulations; Productions, Marketing and Promotions; Parade and Security; and Playdate, Sales and Monitoring.