Mar 25
27th LUNA AWARDS WINNERS ANNOUNCED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 25, 2011

The winners of the 27th Luna Awards which honors the distinguished cinematic achievements for films shown in 2008 were finally announced by the Film Academy of the Philippines.

Budgetary constraints forced the Academy to forego staging the Luna Awards for 2008 and 2009. Though winners were selected for 2008, the FAP was not able to choose the best film achievements for 2009.

But the 29th Luna Awards to honor films showin in 2010 will be held in May as boards of nominators are now selecting the final nominees for 12 award categories.

Hereunder are the list of winners and nominees:

Best Picture: Baler
Nominees: Caregiver (Star Cinema)/ Magkaibigan (Maverick Films)/ A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films)/ Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures Co.)/ Torotot (Viva Films)

Best Director: Mark Meily (Baler)
Nominees: Chito S. Rono (Caregiver)/ Cathy Garcia-Molina (A Very Special Love)/ Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan)/ Maryo J. delos Reyes (Torotot)

Best Actor: Christopher de Leon (Magkaibigan)
Nominees: John Lloyd Cruz (A Very Special Love)/ Jericho Rosales (Baler)/ Baron Geisler (Torotot)/ Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins)/ John Estrada (Caregiver)

Best Actress: Mylene Dizon (100)
Nominees: Sharon Cunea (Caregiver)/ Anne Curtis (Baler)/ Judy Ann Santos (Ploning)/ Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Nyong Lahat)

Best Supporting Actor: Philip Salvador (Baler)
Nominees: Christopher de Leon (When Love Begins)/ Dante Rivero (A Very Special Love)/ Philip Salvador (For the First Time)/ Makisig Morales (Caregiver)/ Ricky Davao (Endo)/ Ronaldo Valdez (When Love Begins)

Best Supporting Actress: Iza Calzado (One True Love)
Nominees: Tessie Tomas (100)/ Eugene Domingo (Ikaw Pa Rin)/ Maricel Laxa (Magkaibigan)/ Candy Pangilinan (For the First Time)

Best Screenplay: Roy Iglesias (Baler)
Nominees: Chris Martinez (Caregiver)/ Dante Nico Garcia & Benjamin Lingan (Ploning)/ Paul Alexander Morales (Concerto)/ Jade Francis Castro, Michiko Yamamoto & Ramond Lee (Endo)

Best Cinematography: Lee Meily (Baler)
Nominees: Charlie S. Peralta (Ploning)/ Shayne Sarte (For the First Time)/ Larry Manda (100)/ Eli Balce (Caregiver)

Best Editing: Jess Navarro (Torotot)
Nominees: Marya Ignacio (A Very Special Love)/ Ike Veneracion (100)/ Marya Ignacio (My Only You)/ Manet Dayrit (Caregiver)

Best Production Design: Aped Santos (Baler)
Nominees: Gerry Santos (Concerto)/ Raymund George Fernandez (Ploning)/ Nancy Arcega (A Very Special Love)/ Benjamin Padero & Carlo Tabije (Serbis)

Best Sound: Ditoy Aguila (Baler)
Nominees: Ronald de Asis (Magkaibigan)/ Albert Michael Idioma (Ploning)/ Albert Michael Idioma (When Love Begins)/ Albert Michael Idioma & Addiss Tabong (One Night Only)

Best Musical Score: Vincent de Jesus (Baler)
Jessie Lasaten (Ploning)/ Carmina Robles-Cuya (Caregiver)/ Von de Guzman (Kulam)/ Vincent de Jesus (I.T.A.L.Y.)

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at