Mar 04
2011 MMFF-P LAUNCHED MARCH 11 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 4, 2011

The 2011 Metro Manila Filmfest will be officially launched by MMDA Chairman Francis N. Tolentino at the roof deck of the EMAR Suites Event Hall on 1409 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong at 6 p.m. on Friday, March 11. An appreciation dinner for the 2010 Metro Manila Filmfest will also be held to hand out cash awards to last December’s filmfest winners.

The first tranche of the share from the amusement tax rebate of five beneficiaries will also be distributed. The beneficiaries of the rebate from the amusement tax during the two-week festival are the MOWELFUND, the Film Academy of the Philippines, the Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council. the Film Development Council of the Philippines and the Optical Media Board,

The new distribution of the amusement tax proceeds, as in a memorandum from Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr. to MMDA Chairman Tolentino, dated November 22, 2010 will be:

Film Academy of the Philippines – 20%
Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council – 20%
Optical Media Board – 5%
Film Development Council of the Philippines – 5%

The cash awards, meanwhile, will be handed out to the following:

P800,000 for Best Picture: Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last na “To!)
P550,000 for 2nd best picture: Rosario
P300,000 for 3rd best picture: RPG Metanoia

P550,000 for Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Rosario
P200,000 for best festival float during the parade of stars: Rosario
P100,000 for best independent film: Presa

P100,000 cash award each for the following:
Best Director: Wenn Deramas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Actor: Dolphy (Father Jejemon)
Best Actress: Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Screenplay: Mel Mendoza-del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)

P50,000 cash award each for the following:
Best Supporting Actor: Dolphy (Rosario)
Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Child Performer: Xyriel Manabat (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Original Story: Mel Mendoza-del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza (Rosario)
Best Editing: John Wong (Rosario)
Best Production Design: Joey Luna (Rosario)
Best Sound Recording: Ditoy Aguila (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote) Lynnel de Mesa, Ronald de Asis, Sandy Aguinaldo and Connie Valdriz (RPG Metanoia)
Musical Score: Jesse Lasaten (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Original Theme Song: Kaya Mo (RPG Metanoia)
Best Visual Effects: Rico Gutierrez, Riot & Post Manila (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote)
Best Make-Up: Nestor Dayo, Rene Abelardo and Bobby Balisi (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote)

The 2010 MMFF-P finally breached the half-billion-peso gross mark, finishing its two-week run with a P530 million gross income.

The MMFFP grossed P437 million in 2009 and P450 million in 20008. The only other year the MMFFP reached the P400 million mark was in 2006 with a total of P414.5 million. In 2007 with 9 films participating, the gross dipped below the P400 million gross take with P380.2 million.

The first two highest grossers for 2010 were Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote (GMA Films/OctoArts Films/M-Zet Production Inc./APT Entertainment/Imus Productions Inc.), with P159 million, and Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last na ‘To!) (Star Cinema) with P157 million.

The gross takes of three other films are as follows: Dalaw (Star Cinema/CineMedia), P96 million; Shake, Rattle & Roll 12 (Regal Entertainment Inc.), P50 million; and RPG Metanoia (Star Cinema/ ambientmedia) , P28 million.

There are no records available for Super Inday and the Golden Bibe (Regal Entertainment Inc.), Rosario (Cinemabuhay International/Studio 5) and Father Jejemon (RVQ Productions). But the last three films together grossed a total of P40 million.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at