Jul 22
FAP ELECTIONS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 22, 2005

The board of governors of the Film Academy of the Philippines will elect the officers of the academy in its regular monthly board meeting tomorrow, Saturday (June 30).

The election for the five FAP positions will be the main order of business in the BOG agenda, scheduled to begin at 12 noon tomorrow.

To be elected for three-year terms are the BOG chairman, the director general, the deputy director general, the executive secretary and the treasurer.

Atty. Espiridion Laxa is the present BOG chairman, Leo G. Martinez, the director general, Jesse M. Ejercito, the deputy director general and concurrent treasurer, and Manny Niqui, the executive secretary.

FAP senior adviser Eddie Romero, national artist for film, and adviser Robert Arevalo will act as the election officials.

Presidents of 14 guilds under the FAP will be voting for the positions after an open nomination process. They are Manny Nuqui, Philippine Motion Picture Producers’ Asspociation (PMPPPA); John S. Suarez, Movie Producers and Distributors Association of the Philippines (MPDAP); Director William Mayo, Kapisanan ng mga Direktor ng Pelikulang Pilipino (KDPP);

German Moreno, Katipunan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon (KAPPT); Pablo G. Gomez, Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines SGP); Isagani Sioson, Filipino Society of Cinematographers (FSC); Rolly Ruta, Sound Technicians’ Association for Motion Pictures (STAMP);

Josefino Cenizal, United Film Musical Directors of the Philippines (UFIMDAP); Tony Ramos, Assistant Directors and Production Managers’ Guild of the Philippines (ADPM); Ms. Boots Anson-Roa, Movie Workers Welfare Foundation (MOWELFUND); Johnny Delgado, Actors Workshop Foundation (AWF); Ben Pinga, Organization of Specialized Filipino Filmmakers (OSFILM) and the president of the film editors’ guild.

The board of judges of the FAP screenplay/storyline contest will also submit their decision for ratification by the board of governors. This will pave the way for the opening of the sealed envelopes containing the names of the winners for the official announcement of winning entries by Monday, August 1.