Jan 14
MMFFP 2010 GROSS HITS HALF BILLION PESOS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jan 14, 2011

The Metropolitan Manila Film Festival (Philippines) finally breached the half-billion-peso gross mark as the 36th MMFFP finished its two-week run with P530 million gross income.

The MMFFP grossed P437 million in 2009 and P450 million in 20008. The only other year the MMFFP reached the P400 million mark was in 2006 with a total of P414.5 million. In 2007 with 9 films participating, the gross dipped below the P400 million gross take with P380.2 million.

The MMFFP box office performances for the rest of the decade of the 2000s are as follows: 2005—P351 million; 2004—P300 million; 2003—P326 million; 2002—P315 million; 2001—P147 million; and 2000—P155 million.

The first two highest grossers for 2010 were Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote (GMA Films/OctoArts Films/M-Zet Production Inc./APT Entertainment/Imus Productions Inc.), with P159 million, and Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last na ‘To!) (Star Cinema) with P157 million.

The gross takes of the six other films are as follows: Dalaw (Star Cinema/CineMedia), P96 million; Shake, Rattle & Roll 12 (Regal Entertainment Inc.), P50 million; RPG Metanoia (Star Cinema/ambientmedia) , P28 million; Super Inday and the Golden Bibe (Regal Entertainment Inc.), no records available; Rosario (Cinemabuhay International/Studio 5), no records available; and Father Jejemon (RVQ Productions), no records available. The last three films together grossed an total of P40 million.

In MMFFP 2009, the top grosers were Imus Films and GMA films’ Ang Panday, with P99.4 million, and Star Cinema’s I Love You, Goodbye, with P94.3 million.

The gross takes of the five other films are as follows: Ang Darling Kong Aswang P89.6 million; Shake, Rattle & Roll 11, P77.6 million; Mano Po 6, P42 million; Nobody, Nobody but Juan, P31.9 million; and Wapakman, P2.6 million.

Last year, MMFFP officials opined that the possibility of hitting the P500 million mark will be achieved within the next three or four years or earlier if the film piracy problem will be solved as early as possible.

The Execom of the MMFFP will soon hold a joint appreciaton dinner and the launching of MMFFP 2011 to hand out cash prizes will be given to the winners of the last festival. The list of winners follows:

Best Picture: Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last na “To!)
2nd best picture: Rosario
3rd best picture: RPG Metanoia
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Rosario
Quezon City Gender Sensitivity Award: Ang Tanging Ina Mo
Quezon City Special Citation for Gender sensitive Movie: RPG Metanoia

Best Director: Wenn Deramas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Actor: Dolphy (Father Jejemon)
Best Actress: Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Supporting Actor: Dolphy (Rosaio)
Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Child Performer: Xyriel Manabat (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Original Story: Mel de Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Screenplay: Mel del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza (Rosario)
Best Editing: John Wong (Rosario)
Best Production Design: Joey Luna (Rosario)
Best Sound Recording: Ditoy Aguila (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote), Ambient media (RPG Metanoia)
Musical Score: Jesse Lazatin (Ang Tanging Ina Mo)
Original Theme Song: Kaya Mo (RPG Metanoia)
Best Visual Effects: Rico Gutierrez (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote)
Best Make-Up: Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote
Best Indie Film: Presa
Best Float (Parade of Stars): Rosario

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/