Oct 01
NCCA CINEMA COMMITTEE ELECTIONS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Oct 1, 2010

After a sumptuous lunch at Manila Pavilion on UN Avenue, the election of members for the 2010 National Committee on Cinema of the NCCA (National Commission for Culture and the Arts) started.

Marichu Tellano, head of the Plan, Policy Formulation and Programming Division, explained the mission and vision of the Cinema Committee. Ferdie Isleta, head of Arts Section, hosted the proceedings.

NCCA’s Marichu Tellano, head of PPFPD and Ferdie Isleta of the Arts Section

Dr. Miguel Rapatan, the incumbent head of the Cinema Committee, extolled the outgoing Cinema Committee members who have served the maximum of 2 consecutive terms.

Outgoing member William Mayo of the Mainstream sector stressed the value of profit in producing a movie. Teddy Co of the Indie sector thanked the NCCA for the opportunity to serve while Vicky Belarmino of the Archives sector was grateful for the travel experiences in the pursuance of their duty.

The National Committee on Cinema is divided into the following sectors: Mainstream to elect three committee members, Archives to elect two, Film Journalism to elect two, Indie to elect two and Education to elect two.

Election winners Robert Arevalo, Rez Cortez and Elwood Perez with the tally board as the background

The Mainstream was first to elect their 3 representatives to the National Committee on Cinema. Rez Cortez topped the poll with 16 votes followed closely by Robert Arevalo with 15. Third seat went to Elwood Perez in a hairline win over incumbent member Jess Navarro.

Some of the voters from the Mainstream sector

Mainstream sector members who voted were William Mayo, Rez Cortez, Robert Arevalo, Elwood Perez, Jess Navarro, Danny Gloria, Xever Ramos, Arcadio Vinarao, Bert Ortega, Vic Belaro, Andy Beltran, Vic Dabao, Alex Socorro, Pablo Vergara, Brando Juan, Mar Lopez, Joel Apuyan and Dante Kabigting.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/