Sep 09
ACTORS’ GUILD OFFICERS INDUCTION by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Thu, Sep 9, 2010

The officers of the Kapisanan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon (KAPPT), led by Phillip Salvador as president, will be finally inducted on September 26 at the Quezon City Sports Club on E. Rodriguez Avenue.

The other officers include Rez Cortez, chairman; Tirso Cruz III, vice-president for internal affairs; Patrick dela Rosa, vice president for external affairs; Lyn Madri-gal, secretary; and Gina Alajar, treasurer.

The other board directors are: Jeorge ‘ER’ Ejercito Estregan; Amay Bisaya; Baldo Marro; Rey Solo; Dick Israel; Jestoni Alarcon; Vic Felipe; Joko Diaz; and Pol Pepito.

Sen. Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr. will induct the new officers. He is also two of special guest speakers with Sen. Jinggoy Estrada. Inspirational messages will be delivered by Senators Lito Lapid and Tito Sotto and Q.C. Mayor Herbert M. Bautista.

Fr. Larry Faraon and Pastor Hiram Pangilinan will give short spiritual talks and will lead prayers and invocations.

KAPPT Chairman Rez Cortez will give the welcome address and President Phillip Salvador will give the closing remarks.

KAPPT or the Actors’ Guild of the Philippines was established in 1981, an organization mandated to foster goodwill and camaraderie among film and television actors and to promote and protect the rights and welfare of actors and workers of the film industry. It has also recognized excellent artistic performances as a guild of the Film Academy of the Philippines.

Before Salvador, the last KAPPT president was Jeorge E.R. Estregan, now governor of Laguna who served for three consecutive terms. He was the eighth KAPPT president.

Aside from Mayor Estregan, the other former KAPPT presidents included Actor-Director Robert Arevalo, the late Actor-Director-Producer Fernando Poe Jr., Actor Paquito Diaz, the late Actor-Producer Rudy Fernandez, Actor Edu Manzano and Actor-Director-Producer Ronnie Ricketts and Actor German Moreno.

For its first fund-raising project, the Actors’ Guild will sponsor a poker tournament.

Dubbed as the Celebrity Challenge Poker Tournament, it will have a prize pool of P2 million with P800,000 going to the eventual champion. There is an entry or registration fee of P10,000 for each player.

The eliminations will be held at the Midas Touch (near ULTRA) on October 14, 15 and 16 (Thursday to Saturday) with the finals being held on Oct. 17, a Sunday. Thirty percent of the proceeds will go to the coffers of the KAPPT. Registration are now ongoing at the KAPPT office at the MOWELFUND compound.

The tournament is jointly sponsored by KAPPT, the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR) and The Midas Touch.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at