Aug 27
TUESDAY IS DEADLINE FOR CINEMALAYA 2011 ENTRIES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 27, 2010

Filmmakers who want to join the New Breed Section and Directors’ Showcase of the 2011 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition have up to Tuesday, August 31, to submit their entries..

The New Breed Section is open to Filipino filmmakers who have not yet directed more than three full length commercial feature films while the Directors’ Showcase is open to Filipino directors who have directed at least three full length commercial feature films. Ten directors will qualify for the New Breed Section while five directors will be chosen for the Directors’ Showcase.

Entries to the two categories are now being accepted at the CCP Media Arts Division, 4th Floor, CCP Main Building, CCP Complex, Pasay City.

Interested filmmakers must submit the following requirements:

–A duly completed application form

–A brief resume/bio-data; two recent 2 x 2 photos

–Samples of previous film/video work in DVD

–A one –page synopsis of not more than 300 words

–A detailed sequence treatment (between 50-60 sequences), double-spaced on letter-sized bond paper, with a one-inch margin all around in 12 points Courier type). Name or names of the filmmaker/s must not appear on any page of the synopsis and detailed sequence treatment.

All entries must be submitted in along brown envelope properly labelled with the filmmaker’s name, title and contact details.

The Competition Committee will announce the 15 finalists on December 1, 2010 while the deadline for the submission of the completed films is May 27, 2011.

All 15 films will receive a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation as investment for their production.

In the just concluded 5th Cinemalaya Filmfest, the five Directors’ Showcase entries were Donor by Mark Meily which was chosen best film; Ang Paglilitis ni Bonifacio by Mario O’Hara; Pink Halo-Halo by Jay Altarejos; Sigwa by Joel Lamangan; and Two Funerals, by eventual best director winner Gil Portes.

The nine New Breed entries were: Sheron Dayoc’s Halaw (adjudged best film); Danny Anonuevo’s Rekrut; Kim Homer C. Garcia’s Magkapatid; Art Katipunan’s Si Techie, si Technoby at si Juana B; Ian-Dean S. Lorenos’ The Leaving; Gutierrez Mangansakan II’s Limbunan; Dennis Marasigan’s Vox Populi; Francis Xavier Pasion’s Sampaguita; and Dan Villegas and Paul Sta. Ana’s Mayohan.The tenth entry, Arnel Mardoquio’s Sheika, was withdrawn from the competition but was shown in the Cinemalaya NETPAC premieres.

The ten finalists in the Short Feature Film Competition were Alistaire Christian E. Chan’s Boca, Steven Flor’s Breakfast with Lolo, Janus Victoria’s Dalaw (Visit), Borgy Torre’s Despedida; Jerrold Tarog’s Faculty, Mikhail Red’s Harang (Barriers), Hubert Tibi’s Hay Pinhod Oh Ya Scooter (I Want to Have a Bicycle), Joey Agbayani’s Lola , Rommel Tolentino’s “P”, and Pam Miras’ Wag kang Titingin. The last film was adjudged best film in this category.