Jul 16
KaSAYSAYan WINNERS ANNOUNCED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 16, 2010

Veteran scriptwriters are the major winners in the KaSAYSAYan historial scriptwriting contest of the Film Development Council of the Philippines.

The website of the FDCP released the list of winners:

First prize (P350,000): Balangiga by Jose F. Lacaba

Second prize (P250,000): Nan Hudhud Hi Apo Ilyam (Apo Ilyam’s Hudhud) by Florencio dela Cruz Quintos

Third prize (P150,000): The Whirlwinds of Dust: The Fall of Antonio Luna by Eduardo Rocha and the late Henry Francia

Special mention: Mangulayon by Arnel Mardoquio

The board of judges was composed of distinguished educators and film industry personalities with Sen. Edgardo Angara as chairman.

The FDCP website release is quoted in parts:

The project, launched in February 2010, was done in preparation for the year 2011 being a marker for several notable events in Philippine history, such as Jose Rizal’s 150th birthday, the country’s 65th year of indepen-dence from America and the People Power Revolution’s 25th anniversary.

The contest also aimed to find the most captivating yet unknown story, in the form of a full-length screenplay, using Filipino natural history as a springboard.

Beside the cash prize, there is a possibility that the first place winner may be developed into a film.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/