Jul 09
2nd PNP FILMFEST LAUNCHED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 9, 2010

The Philippine National Police launched the 2nd PNP Film Festival last July 1, with Gen. Jesus A. Verzosa, who has been retained PNP chief under the new administration of President Aquino, as guest of honor at
the PNP Multi-Purpose Center in Camp Crame, Quezon City.

The website of the Film Academy of the Philippines will reprint the rules and regulations for the 2nd PNP Filmfest as soon as they are e-mailed.

In the first ever PNP Film festival, Police Line, a film about three generations of policemen in a single family, was the runaway winner.

The film was produced by students of the New Era University. It garnered nine of the ten awards handed out, missing only the best actress trophy.

The awards rites was attended by PNP chief PDG Jesus A. Verzosa, PCSupt Nicanor A. Bartolome, director of PCRG, and other ranking PNP officers, together with showbiz personalities led by Eddie Garcia, Optical Media Board Chairman Ronnie Ricketts, Mark Gil, Dinky Doo, Jayver Cruz, and emcees Jackie Lou Blanco and Jojo Alejar.

All in all, Police Line won for best film, direction (Diana Grace Cantuba),
Actor (Edison Piloton), screenplay (Michael Silva, Joyce Ann Baldemor, Diamzel Juacalla Roland Seblario II), videography (Wilfredo TJ Taa Jr., Army Knight Petil & Roland Seblario II), editing, musical score and production design (Angeli Michelle Mendoza).

Amalia Rosales won the best actress award for her performance as the grandmother of two boys who are orphaned with the death of their parents who were both cops in the film Gatilyo, produced by students of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

The three other films which vied for the awards were: Bro, produced by La Consolacion College; Detektib, produced by Dr. Felimon Aguilar Memorial College; and Vendetta, produced by the University of Perpetual Help System.

The board of judges was composed of the following: Film Director Romy Suzara; Judge Marilou Runes Tamang of the Metropolitan Trial Court in Pateros; Ma. Buena Fe de Guzman of the Creative and Production Services of the Philippine Information Agency; Film Director Jose Carreon, secretary of the Directors Guild of the Philippines; and OMB chairman Ricketts.

The consultants included Nonoy Lauzon, cinema programmer of the UP Film Institute; Arnel Telesforo, freelance videographer; Judy Rosario Rino, St. Paul University mass communicatons department; and PSSupt Gilbert DC Cruz, PNP provincial director of Surigao del Norte.