May 28
TEN SHORT FILMS COMPLETE CINEMALAYA 2010 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 28, 2010

Ten short films have been finally selected to complete the entries to the Sixth Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival—scheduled on July 9 to 18 this year. These films will be featured together with five films by veteran filmmakers in the new Open Category of the filmfest and ten feature-length films under the renamed New Breed category.

The ten finalists in the Short Feature Film Competition are the following:

–Joey Agbayani, Lola

–Alistaire Christian E. Chan, Boca

–Steven Flor, Breakfast with Lolo

–Pam Miras, Wag kang Titingin

–Mikhail Red, Harang (Barriers)

–Jerrold Tarog, Faculty

–Hubert Tibi, Hay Pinhod Oh Ya Scooter (I Want to Have a Bicycle)

–Rommel Tolentino, “P”

–Borgy Torre, Crossing Michael

–Janus Victoria, Dalaw (Visit)

Unlike the other entries, the short films are already finished products. The 10 finalists were culled from a short list of 68 films which emerged semi-finalists out of the more than 100 entries submitted to this category. The entries in the two other categories were judged through submitted screenplays.

The five Open Category entries are the following:

Isang Pirasong Buhay, the kapit-sa-patalim story of Filipinos selling their kidneys, directed by Mark Meily.

Ang Paglilitis ni Bonifacio, the dramatic confrontation between national heroes Bonifacio and Aguinaldo during the rfebellion against the Spaniards, directed by Mario O’hara.

Pink Halo-Halo, the harrowing experience of a boy who learns about his father’s death through a TV news program, directed by Jay Altarejos.

Sigwa, the story of a Fil-Am journalist who covered the turbulent martial law era in 1975 and was arrested and deported, directed by Joel Lamangan.

Two Funerals, a black comedy about a mix-up of two corpses and two families’ frantic efforts to set things right, directed by Gil Portes.

The ten New Breed directors are the following, with their work:

–Danny Anonuevo, Rekrut

–Sheron Dayoc, Halaw

–Kim Homer C. Garcia, Magkapatid

–Art Katipunan, Si Techie, si Technoby at si Juana B

–Ian-Dean S. Lorenos, The Leaving

–Gutierrez Mangansakan II, Limbunan

–Dennis Marasigan, Siya ang Mayor Ko

–Arnel Mardoquio, Sheika

–Francis Xavier Pasion, Sampaguita

–Dan Villegas and Paul Sta. Ana, Mayohan

The best Open Category film will received P300,000 and the Balanghai trophy while the best New Breed film will get P200,000 and the Balanghai trophy.

The five Open category entries were selected from 24 films submitted by veteran directors, those who have directed three full-length films which were shown in commercial theatres or cinemahouses.

The ten New Breed entries were chosen from 119 entries submitted October last year.

Cinemalaya, which began in 2005, is an all-digital film festival and competition that aims “to discover, encourage and honor the cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity.”

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at