Mar 26
THE RATINGS GAME by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 26, 2010

Part 2

Continuing the list of films rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board, in 2007 there were eight which got their 100 percent rebate from the amusement tax.

These included: Batad sa Paang Palay (Benjie Garcia); Ouija (Chito Rono); Foster Child (Brillante Mendoza); Ataul for Rent (Neal Tan); Pisay (Auraeus Solito); Katas ng Saudi and Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (both by Jose Javier Reyes) and Resiklo (Mark Reyes).

The most number of A rated films which was 12 was chalked up the following year, 2008. Two of them were animation films.

The films included: Endo (Jade Francis Castro); Ploning (Dante Nico Garcia), that year’s RP entry to the Oscar’s foreign language film category; Caregiver (Chito Rono); Urduja, an animation film of APT Entertainment Inc. directed by Reggie Entienza;

A Very Special Love (Cathy Garcia-Molina); Boses (Ellen Ongkeko-Marfil); Kulam (Jun Lana); Concerto (Paul Morales); 100 (Chris Martinez); Baler (Mark Meily); Magkaibigan (Jose Javier Reyes); and Dayo, another animation film produced by Cutting Edge Prod. Inc. and directed by Roberto Quilao.

To recap: for the seven-year period from 2003 to 2009, the Cinema Evaluation Board granted the A rating to 48 films and the B rating to 122 films for a total of 170 films.

Breaking down year by year data and statistics, following is an overview of who among our local directors have apparently winning ways in the ratings game.

Joel Lamangan and Jose Javier Reyes, both members of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines (DGPI), are obviously in the top of the list. Joel has 18 rated films (with three As) while Joey has four A rated films (the highest in the list) in his total of 11 films.

Joel’s A films were Zsazsa Zaturnah (2006), Dukot and Mano Po 6 (both 2009). Joey’s A films included Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (2006), its sequel Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (2007), Katas ng Saudi (2007) and Magkaibigan (2008).

Two directors have seven rated films each, namely Cathy Garcia-Molina (2 As and 5 Bs) and Mark Reyes (1 A and 6 Bs). Cathy’s A films were A Very Special Love (2008) and You Changed My Life (2009) while Mark’s A film was Resiklo (2007).

Maryo J. delos Reyes has 6 rated films with one rated A which was Kamoteng Kahoy (2009), part of the six-film Sine Direk project of the DGPI.

Three directors have five rated films each. These are Jeffrey Jeturian (1 A and 4 Bs), Toppel Lee (1 A and 4 Bs) and another lady director, Binibining Joyce Bernal, who has five Rated B films. Jeffrey’s A film was Kubrador (2006) while Toppel’s A film was Ouija (2007).

Four other directors have four rated films to their names—Chito Rono (1 A and 3 Bs); Mike Tuviera (1 A and 3 Bs); and Rahyan Carlos and Wenn Deramas with four rated B films each. Chito’s A film was Caregiver (2008) while Mike’s A film was TXT (2006).

Three directors are members of the exclusive A club (meaning all their films were rated A by the CEB and they have no B rated films). These include DGPI chairman of the board Mark Meily, with three; and Cesar Montano and Auraeus Solito, with two each.

Mark’s A films were Crying Ladies (2003), La Visa Loca (2005) and Baler (2008). Cesar’s A films were Panaghoy sa Suba (2004) and Ligalig (2006) while Auraeus’ A films were Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (2005) and Pisay (2007).

Five other directors—two of whom worked in tandem—have three rated films each with one of them an A rating. They include Gil Portes (with 2009’s Pitik Bulag as his A film); Cannes Filmfest best director winner Brillante Mendoza (with 2007’s Foster Child as his A film); Neal Tan (with 2007’s Ataul for Rent as his A film) and Paolo Villaluna & Ellen Ramos (with 2005’s Ilusyon as their A film).

With one A and one B rated films each are Adolf Alix Jr. (2006’s Donsol an A); Jade Francis Castro (2008’s Endo); Ellen Ongkeko-Marfil (2008’s Boses); Juna Lana (2008’s Kulam); and Mel Chionglo (2009’s Beinte).

Three other directors have chalked three Rated B films each. They are Quark Henares, Erik Matti and Mac Alejandre.

Holders of a CEB A rating for a film each are the following directors: Marilou Diaz-Abaya (Noon at Ngayon, 2003); Laurice Guillen (Santa Santita, 2004); Mario Cornejo (Big Time, 2005); Dominic Zapata (Mulawin, the Movie, 2005); Romeo Candido (Ang Pamana, 2006); Pablo Biglang-awa & Veronica Velasco (Inang Yaya, 2006);

Eddie Romero (Faces of Love, 2006); Benjie Garcia (Batad sa Paang Palay, 2007); Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning, 2008); Reggie Entienza (Urduja, 2008); Paul Morales (Concerto, 2008); Chris Martinez (100, 2008); Roberto Quilao (Dayo, 2008);

Ronaldo Beturbin (The Last Viewing, 2009); Jay Francis Javier (Pasion, 2009); Soxie Topacio (Ded na si Lolo, 2009); and Peque Gallaga (Agaton & Mindy, 2009).

Eight directors are lumped together for having two rated B films each. They are Tony Reyes, Don Cuaresma, Olivia Lamasan, Lauren Dyogi, Dennis Marasigan, Rory Quintos, Jerry Lopez Sineneng and Alfred Adlawan.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at