Jan 15
MMFFP 2009 BOX OFFICE GROSS ONLY SECOND HIGHEST by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jan 15, 2010

After breaching the P450 milllion mark for the first time in 2008, the Metropolitan Manila Film Festival (Philippines) in 2009 was short of P13 million to hit that mark but is still the second highest grosser in the festival’s 35 years.

The 2009 MMFFP’s total gross for seven participating films was P437.6 million as compared with the 2008 total of P450.8 million for 8 films. The only other year the MMFFP reached the P400 million mark was in 2006 with a total of P414.5 million.

In 2007 with 9 films participating, the gross dipped below the P400 million gross take with P380.2 million.

The first two highest grossers for 2009 were Imus Films and GMA films’ Ang Panday, with P99.4 million, and Star Cinema’s I Love You, Goodbye, with P94.3 million.

The gross takes of the five other films are as follows: Ang Darling Kong Aswang P89.6 million; Shake, Rattle & Roll 11, P77.6 million; Mano Po 6, P42 million; Nobody, Nobody but Juan, P31.9 million; and Wapakman, P2.6 million.

The MMFFP box office performances for the rest of the decade of the 2000s are as follows: 2005—P351 million; 2004—P300 million; 2003—P326 million; 2002—P315 million; 2001—P147 million; and 2000—P155 million.

MMFFP officials opined that the possibility of hitting the P500 million mark will be achieved within the next three or four years or earlier if the film piracy problem will be solved as early as possible.

Producers will soon be planning for the 36th MMFFP which will be launched during the appreciation dinner for the 2009 festival, tentatively scheduled on February 26.

This will be the first appreciation dinner/launching to be hosted by new Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Oscar Inocentes.

During the appreciation dinner, a total of 20 cash prizes will be given to the winners of the last festival.

Ang Panday won seven awards: best picture; best actor (Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr.); best supporting actor (Philip Salvador); best child performer (Robert ‘Buboy’ Villar); best theme song (Tanging Ikaw Lamang by Ogie Alcasid); best production design (Richard Somes); and best visual effects (Riot, Jay Santiago).

Mano Po 6 garnered 6 awards: Gatpuno Villegas Cultural Award; best director (Joel Lamangan); best actress (Sharon Cuneta); best supporting actress (Heart Evangelista); best screenplay (Roy Iglesias); and best musical score (Von de Guzman).

I Love You…Goodbye got 4 awards: second best picture; best cinematography (Lee Briones-Meily); best editor (Efren Jarlego and Manet Dayrit); and best original story (Vanessa Valdez, Kriz Gazmen and Anna Karenina Ramos).

Ang Darling Kong Aswang won 2 awards for third best picture; and best sound (Mike Idioma and Addiss Tabong) while Shake, Rattle & Roll 11 won for best make-up (Noel Flores).

The best picture will get P800,000. The Gatpuno Cultural Award and second best picture will get P550,000 each while the third best picture will get P300,000.

A P100,000 cash prize will each be given to the best director, actor and actress and best screenplay while P50,000 cash prizes will each be given to the 12 other winners.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/