Dec 11
27th LUNA AWARDS—THE FINALISTS by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Dec 11, 2009

Last of Two Parts

Seven categories down…five to go.

Last week, we sifted through the 27th Luna Awards’ final lists of nominees for seven categories, ranging from best director to best sound. What remain are the categories for best picture and the four acting or performance categories even as we once again sideswipe some interesting trivia about the awards.

In the pantheon of finalists in almost all film award-giving bodies, the performance awards—best actor, best actress, best supporting actor and best supporting actress—are only superseded by best picture and best direction.

Looking back to the first 26 years of the Luna Awards, we discern that there have been 11 winning producers who garnered the best picture trophy—three of them multi-time winners and eight one-time winners.

For the best performance categories, we have 23 best supporting actor winners, 19 best supporting actresses, 15 best actors and 14 best actresses.

Let s now buckle down to the final five categories of the 27th Luna Awards.

Best Supporting Actress

It is a foregone conclusion that the best supporting actress for the 27th Luna Awards will be a first-time winner. Each of the five nominees will go all out to snatch her first Luna.

The nominees are Iza Calzado (One True Love), Eugene Domingo (Ikaw Pa Rin), Maricel Laxa (Magkaibigan), Candy Pangilinan (For the First Time) and Tessie Tomas (100).

Topping the list of 19 previous winners are Gina Alajar and the late Nida Blanca who both have already three trophies to their name—Gina for Mulanay (1996), Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina? (1990) and Kaya Kong Abutin ang Langit (1984) and the Nida for Babae (1997), Kid, Huwag Kang Susuko (1987) and Magdusa Ka (1986).

The two-time winners are Jaclyn Jose for Naglalayag (2004) and The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995), Amy Austria for Anak (2000) and Narito ang Puso Ko (1992); and Caridad Sanchez for Bagong Buwan (2001) and Maalaala Mo Kaya (1994).

Best Supporting Actor

Turning out to be the category with the most number of nominees which is seven, the best supporting actor derby this year is a free-for-all among five previous winners (for best actor and supporting actor actually) and a young newcomer with possibly his fist ever nomination. One nominee, Philip Salvador, was nominated for Baler and For the First Time.

The other nominees are Ricky Davao for Endo; Christopher de Leon for When Love Begins; Makisig Morales for Caregiver; Dante Rivero for A Very Special Love and Ronaldo Valdez for When Love Begins.

Interestingly, Philip and Christopher both played father roles in all of their three films.

The most number of winners in any category of the Luna Awards is the 23 actors who have won the best supporting trophy. Actually, there are only three actors who have won twice in this category. They are Dante Rivero for A Love Story (2007) and Tuhog (2001); Ronaldo Valdez for Nasaan ang Puso? (1997) and May Minamahal (1993) and the late Johnny Delgado who won in consecutive years for Ligalig (2006) and La Visa Loca (2005).

Best Actress

Two best actress winners lead this year’s contenders for best actress in the 27th Luna Awards. They are Sharon Cuneta for Caregiver and Judy Ann Santos for Ploning.

The other nominees include Anne Curtis (Baler), Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat) and Mylene Dizon (100).

There has been a total of 14 best actress winners and six of them won at least twice. As expected there was the head-to-head rivalry between Nora Aunor and Governor Vilma Santos who won four trophies each.

Guy won for The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995), Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M (1991), Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina (1990) and Bilangin Mo ang Bituin sa Langit (1989).

Vi won for Dekada ’70 (2002), Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa? (1998), Dolzura Cortez Story (1993) and Relasyon during the first ever awards night of he Academy.

Lorna Tolentino and Maricel Soriano have three trophies each. LT won for Abakada Ina (2001), Narito ang Puso Ko (1992) and Maging Akin Ka Lamang (1987). Marya won last year for Bahay Kubo, Filipinas (2003) and Nasaan ang Puso (1997) in a tie with Zsa Zsa Padilla.

Two-time winners are Sharon for Madrasta (1996) and Sa Hirap at Ginhawa (1984) and Zsa Zsa Padilla for Ako Legal Wife (2006) and Batang PX (1997) in that tie with Maricel.

Best Actor

Three-time winner Christopher de Leon and 2006 best actor John Lloyd Cruz (for All About Love) lead this year’s six nominees for best actor. Boyet is nominated for Magkaibigan and John for A Very Special Love.

The other nominated actors include John Estrada (Caregiver); Baron Geisler (Torotot); Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins); and Jericho Rosales (Baler).

In the best actor category, we have already a total of 15 winners and four of them are multi-time winners. Philip Salvador is the winningest best actor with seven trophies from the first ever award for Cain at Abel in 1982. The six other trophies were snagged for his roles in Hanggat May Hininga (1996), Ka Hector (1994), Masahol Pa sa Hayop (1993), Boy Negro (1988), Balweg, the Rebel Priest (1987) and Kapit sa Patalim (1985).

The late King of Philippine movies, Fernando Poe Jr., won for Eseng ng Tondo (1997), Muslim Magnum .357 (1986) and Umpisahan Mo, Tatapusin Ko (1983). While the three best actor trophies Boyet won were for Bulaklak ng Manila (1999), Ipagpatawad Mo (1991) and Biktima (1990).

The late Rudy Fernandez won two trophies for Birador (1998) and Batuigas II: Pasukuin si Waway (1984).

All of the above are senior stars but for the last five years, young actors have been dominating this category. Child actor Jiro Manio started it all in 2003 for Magnifico. He was followed in order by Dennis Trillo for Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004), Marvin Agustin for Kutob (2005), John Lloyd Cruz for All About Love (2006) and Paolo Contis for Banal (2007).

Best Picture

Six films are vying for best picture and four of these are either produced by two of the winningest film outfits—Viva Films and Star Cinema. The two companies even co-produced one of the nominated films.

Viva Films is represented by Baler and Torotot. Star Cinema has Caregiver. Maverick Films vies for the award with Mag-kaibigan while Panoramanila Pictures Co. has Ploning. The last nominated film is A Very Special Love, co-produced by Viva Films and Star Cinema.

From 1986 to 2001, Viva Films won 10 best picture trophies for such films as Gabi Na, Kumander (1986), Saan Nagtatago ang Pag-ibig? (1987), Boy Negro (1988), Gumapang Ka sa Lusak (1990), Ipagpatawad Mo (1991), Pangako ng Kahapon (1994), The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995), Eseng ng Tondo, co-produced with FPJ Films (1997), Bulaklak ng Maynila (1999) and Abakada Ina (2001).

Star Cinema, from 1996 to 2007, took home five best picture Lunas—for Hanggat May Hininga (1996), Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa? (1998), Tanging Yaman (2000), Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (2006) and A Love Story (2007).

Regal Entertainment, Inc. (formerly Regal Films) won best picture for Sister Stella L (1984), Bilangin Mo ang Bituin sa Langit (1989), Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004) and Blue Moon (2005).

Other film outfits with a best trophy each include MVP Films (Batch 81), Amazaldy Films (Pieta), Malaya Films (Kapit sa Patalim), Reyna Films (Ikaw Pa Lamang ang Miknahal (1992), Four-N Films (Masahol Pa sa Hayop), FPJ Films (Eseng ng Tondo), Seeds of Zion Films (Lapu-Lapu) and Violett Films (Magnifico).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at