Dec 09
MMFFP 2005 UPDATES by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Dec 9, 2005

The screening committee of the 2005 Metro Manila Film festival Philippines will choose the final four entries in this year’s December filmfest from eight films which were submitted for review after rules were changed to accommodate producers to vie for the final four slots even if they were not able to file their letters of intent to participate several months ago.

It is reported that only three of the producers who originally filed their letters of intent were able to come up with their finished products. Actually, eight producers filed their letters of intent to participate last August.

The three films which were able to comply with their finished prints are Rocketts’ Productions’ Lagot Ka sa Kuya Ko , starring Ronnie Ricketts, Mariz Ricketts, Nadine Samonte and Angelica Jones, directed by Ronn Rick; Teamworks Productions’ Mourning Girls , starring Dina Bonnevie, Ara Mina, Juliana Palermo, Aleck Bovick and Ricky Davao, directed by Gil M. Portes; and Apache Films’ Rumble Boys (originally titled Trigger ), directed by Ronnie Ricketts.

The five producers who earlier expressed their intention to participate but failed to produce their films were: CM Films for Fatherland , a Cesar Montano starrer directed by Gil M. Portes; Echofaze Entertainment International for Best Actress , directed by Elson Montalbo; ABS/CBN Film Productions for a Sandara Park project, directed by Wenn Deramas; Violett Films for Emmanuel , a Regine Velasquez starrer, directed by Romy Suzara; and JMCN Productions for Sanggalang, Badigard ng Presidente , directed by Joey Gosiengfiao.

In their stead, the five films which will vie for the last four slots are: Double Impact Productions’ Terrorist Hunter ; Unitel Films’ Nasaan si Francis ?; Center Stage’s Kaleldo ; Rosas Films’ Mga Batang Bangketa ; and Good Harvest Unlimited’s Blue Moon .

PMPPA President Manny Nuqui, a member of the executive and screening committees of the MMFFP 2005, said they will be selecting four films from the batch of finished products because only six films were produced from the seven scripts which were earlier chosen by the screening committee for automatic entry into the festival. He added that they have already viewed these particular six films.

FAP Chairman Espiridion Laxa said they will be screening the eight finished product hopefuls from Thursday, December 8, to Saturday, December 10. He explained that the best of the four qualifiers will make it to the December 25 playdate while the other three films will be shown starting on January 1 to provide a second wind for the festival.

The first six entries are the following:

— Exodus, Tales of the Enchanted Kingdom , an action-fantasy film produced by Imus Productions and Reality Entertainment Inc. and starring Ramon Bong Revilla Jr., Aubrey Miles and Iya Villania. Director: Erik Matti.

— Mulawin, the Movie , a fantasy film produced by GMA Films and starring Richard Gutierrez and Angel Locsin. Directors: Dominic Zapanta and Mark Reyes.

— Enteng Kabisote (Okey Ka, Fairy Ko‚ĶThe Legend Continues ), a comedy-fantasy film produced by Octoarts Films and M-Zet TV Productions and starring Vic Sotto, Kristine Hermosa, G. Toenggi, Bing Loyzaga, Aiza Seguerra, Michael V. and Oyo Boy Sotto. Director: Tony Reyes.

— Kutob , a horror-suspense film produced by Canary Films and starring Marvin Agustin and Rica Peralejo. Director: Jose Javier Reyes.

— Ako Legal Wife , a comedy film produced by Regal Entertainment Inc. and starring Jay Manalo, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Cherry Pie Picache, Ruffa Mae Quinto and John Pratts. Director: Joel Lamangan.

— Shake, Rattle and Roll , a horror film trilogy produced by Regal Entertainment Inc. and starring Rainier Castillo, Dennis Trillo, Izza Calzado and Yasmin Kurdi. Directors: Maryo J. de los Reyes and Uro de la Cruz.

The only script selected by the screening committee that was not made into a movie was Nasaan Ka Nang Kailangan Kita? , a drama film produced by Good Harvest Unlimited and starring Christopher de Leon, Judy Ann Santos and Angelika Panganiban. Director: Joel Lamangan.