Oct 02
VOTERS PREPARE FOR FINAL SCREENINGS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Oct 2, 2009

The Film Academy of the Philippines is now finalizing the list of voters for the 27th Luna Awards after the line-up of nominees was officially released recently. The voters will review nineteen films which garnered nominations in 12 categories.

Ten guilds have been directed to submit their list of not more than 30 members for voting rights. Unlike the citers and nominators, voters will be deciding on all 12 categories of the awards.

The guilds of the Academy which were tasked to submit their list of voters are: the Katipunan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon, Inc. (Actors Guild of the Philippines, Inc.); the Philippine Motion Picture Directors Association; the Screenwriters Guild of the Philippines; the Filipino Society of Cinematographers; the United Film Editors’ Guild of the Philippines;

The Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; the United Film Musical Directors Association of the Philippines; the Motion Picture Audio Society of the Philippines, Inc.; the Assistant Directors & Production Managers Association for Motion Pictures, Inc.; and the Organization of Specialized Filipino Filmmakers.

The final list of nominees was released after the official tabulation of the Academy’s official accounting firm, the Cedilla, Villarey & Associates.

With the nominations already in, six films qualified for the best picture category which stipulates that films must have nominations in at least three categories, provided that the film is nominated in the direction and/or screenplay categories.

The list of final nominees is as follows:

PICTURE–Baler (Viva Films); Caregiver (Star Cinema); Magkaibigan (Maverick Films, Inc.); Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures Co.); Torotot (Viva Films); and A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films)

DIRECTION–Cathy Garcia-Molina (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films); Mark Meily (Baler/Viva Films); Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan/ Maverick Films); Maryo J. de los Reyes (Torotot/Viva Films); and Chito S. Rono (Caregiver/Star Cinema)

SCREENPLAY–Jade Francis Castro, Michiko Yamamoto & Raymond Lee (Endo/UFO Pictures); Dante Nico Garcia & Benjamin Lingan (Ploning/ Panoramanila Pictures); Roy Iglesias (Baler/Viva Films); Chris Martinez (Caregiver/Star Cinema); and Paul Alexander Morales (Concerto /Digital Spirit Films)

LEAD ACTOR–John Lloyd Cruz for A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films); John Estrada for Caregiver (Star Cinema); Baron Geisler for Torotot (Viva Films); Christopher de Leon for Magkaibigan (Maverick Films); Aga Muhlach for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films); and Jericho Rosales for Baler (Viva Films)

LEAD ACTRESS–Ai-Ai de las Alas for Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat (Star Cinema);Sharon Cuneta for Caregiver (Star Cinema); Anne Curtis for Baler (Viva Films); Mylene Dizon for 100 (Martinez-Rivera Films); and Judy Ann Santos for Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures).

SUPPORTING ACTOR–Ricky Davao for Endo (UFO Pictures); Christopher de Leon for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films); Makisig Morales for Caregiver (Star Cinema); Dante Rivero for A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films); and Philip Salvador for Baler (Viva Films) and for the First Time (Star Cinema); and Ronaldo Valdez for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films).

SUPPORTING ACTRESS–Isa Calzado for One True Love (Regal Ent./GMA Films); Eugene Domingo for Ikaw Pa Rin (Viva Films); Maricel Laxa for Magkaibigan (Maverick Films); Candy Pangilinan for For the First Time (Star Cinema); and Tessie Tomas for 100 (Martinez-Rivera Films).

CINEMATOGRAPHY–Eli Balce (Caregiver/Star Cinema); Larry Manda (100/Martinez-Rivera Films); Lee Meily (Baler/Viva Films); Charlie S.Peralta (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures Co.); and Shayne Sarte (For the First Time/Star Cinema).

EDITING–Manet Dayrit (Caregiver/ Star Cinema); Marya Ignacio (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films) and (My Only You/Star Cinema); Jess Navarro (Torotot/Viva Films); and Ike Veneracion (100/Martinez-Rivera Films).

PRODUCTION DESIGN–Nancy Arcega (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films); Raymond George Fernandez (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures); Benjamin Padero & Carlo Tabije (Serbis/Centerstage Productions); Aped Santos (Baler/Viva Films); and Gerry Santos (Concerto/Digital Spirit Films)

MUSICAL SCORING–Carmina Robles-Cuya (Caregiver); Von de Guzman (Kulam); Vincent de Jesus (Baler and I.T.A.L.Y.); and Jesse Lasaten (Ploning).

SOUND—Ditoy Aguila (Baler/Viva Films); Ronald de Asis (Magkaibigan/ Maverick Films); Albert Michael Idioma (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures) and (When Love Begins/Star Cinema & Viva Films); and Albert Michael Idioma & Addiss Tabong (One Night Only/ Canary Films).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/