Sep 16
27TH LUNA AWARDS NOMINEES RELEASED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Sep 16, 2009

The final list of nominees for the 12 categories of the 27th Luna Awards was released by he Film Academy of the Philippines this morning after the official tabulation of the Academy’s official accounting firm, the Cedilla, Villarey & Associates.

With the nominations already in, six films qualified for the best picture category which stipulates that films must have nominations in at least three categories, provided that the film is nominated in the direction and/or screenplay categories.

The list of final nominees is as follows:

Baler (Viva Films)
Caregiver (Star Cinema)
Magkaibigan (Maverick Films, Inc.)
Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures Co.)
Torotot (Viva Films)
A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films)

Cathy Garcia-Molina (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films)
Mark Meily (Baler/Viva Films)
Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan/ Maverick Films)
Maryo J. de los Reyes (Torotot/Viva Films)
Chito S. Rono (Caregiver/Star Cinema)

Jade Francis Castro, Michiko Yamamoto & Raymond Lee (Endo/UFO Pictures);
Dante Nico Garcia & Benjamin Lingan (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures)
Roy Iglesias (Baler/Viva Films)
Chris Martinez (Caregiver/Star Cinema)
Paul Alexander Morales (Concerto /Digital Spirit Films)

John Lloyd Cruz for A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films)
John Estrada for Caregiver (Star Cinema)
Baron Geisler for Torotot (Viva Films)
Christopher de Leon for Magkaibigan (Maverick Films)
Aga Muhlach for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films)
Jericho Rosales for Baler (Viva Films)

Ai-Ai de las Alas for Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat (Star Cinema)
Sharon Cuneta for Caregiver (Star Cinema)
Anne Curtis for Baler (Viva Films)
Mylene Dizon for 100 (Martinez-Rivera Films)
Judy Ann Santos for Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures).

Ricky Davao for Endo (UFO Pictures)
Christopher de Leon for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films)
Makisig Morales for Caregiver (Star Cinema)
Dante Rivero for A Very Special Love (Star Cinema/Viva Films)
Philip Salvador for Baler (Viva Films) and for the First Time (Star Cinema)
Ronaldo Valdez for When Love Begins (Star Cinema/Viva Films).

Iza Calzado for One True Love (Regal Ent./GMA Films)
Eugene Domingo for Ikaw Pa Rin (Viva Films)
Maricel Laxa for Magkaibigan (Maverick Films)
Candy Pangilinan for For the First Time (Star Cinema)
Tessie Tomas for 100 (Martinez-Rivera Films).

Eli Balce (Caregiver/Star Cinema)
Larry Manda (100/Martinez-Rivera Films)
Lee Meily (Baler/Viva Films)
Charlie S. Peralta (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures Co.)
Shayne Sarte (For the First Time/Star Cinema).

Manet Dayrit (Caregiver/ Star Cinema)
Marya Ignacio (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films) and (My Only You/Star Cinema)
Jess Navarro (Torotot/Viva Films)
Ike Veneracion (100/Martinez-Rivera Films).

Nancy Arcega (A Very Special Love/Star Cinema & Viva Films)
Raymond George Fernandez (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures)
Benjamin Padero & Carlo Tabije (Serbis/Centerstage Productions)
Aped Santos (Baler/Viva Films)
Gerry Santos (Concerto/Digital Spirit Films)

Carmina Robles-Cuya (Caregiver)
Von de Guzman (Kulam)
Vincent de Jesus (Baler and I.T.A.L.Y.)
Jesse Lasaten (Ploning).

Ditoy Aguila (Baler/Viva Films)
Ronald de Asis (Magkaibigan/ Maverick Films)
Albert Michael Idioma (Ploning/Panoramanila Pictures) and (When Love Begins/Star Cinema & Viva Films)
Albert Michael Idioma & Addiss Tabong (One Night Only/ Canary Films).

The Academy released the official lists of nominators for the various categories:

Direction—Emmanuel Borlaza, Mel Chionglo, William Mayo, Elwood Perez and Romy Suzara.

Performance—Gina Alajar, Robert Arevalo, Ana Capri, Tirso Cruz III and Barbara Perez.

Screenplay—Lualhati Bautista, Manny Buising, Jose Carreon, Joen Chionglo and Raquel Villavicencio.

Cinematography—Marissa Floirendo, JA Tadena and Romy Vitug.

Editing—Efren Jarlego, Ike Jarklego, Ferren Salumbides, Augusto Salvador and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao.

Sound—Joe Climaco, Rolly Ruta and Pacifico Sanchez.

Production Design—Benjie de Guzman, Manny Morfe, Merlito Santos and Edel Templonuevo.

Music—Tony Cortez, Willy Cruz, John Lesaca, Snafu Rigor and Mon del Rosario.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at