Sep 02
27TH LUNA SPECIAL AWARDEES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Sep 2, 2009

The Board of Governors of the Film Academy of the Philippines has approved the granting of special awards to four industry personalities which will be given during the 27th Luna Awards night tentatively scheduled in late October.

In a meeting of the board last Thursday, August 27, the following were chosen and will be honored to receive the Academy’s special awards:

The Golden Reel Award to Former First Lady Imelda Romualdez-Marcos

The Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award to Actor Paquito Diaz

The Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award to Comedian Chiquito (Augusto Pangan)

The Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements to Armida Siguion-Reyna

During the 26th Luna Awards, a full set of winners also received these four special awards with Former President Joseph Ejercito Estrada for the Golden Reel; Boots Anson-Roa for the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award; Juanito Clemente for the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award; and Cirio Santiago for the Manuel de Leon Award.

In the 27 years of the Academy, the Golden Reel had been bestowed on the late Former President Cory Aquino, Fernando Poe Jr. and Former President Estrada last year.

In 2005, the FAP’s lifetime achievement award was renamed the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award. Since then, there had been six winners for the last four years: Producer Marichu Maceda in 2005; Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. and Scriptwriter Pablo S. Gomez in 2006; Actor/Producer Rudy Fernandez and Director Celso Ad. Castillo in 2007; and Boots Anson-Roa in 2008.

The recent winners of the Manuel de Leon Award for exemplary Achievements were ABS-CBN President Charo Santos-Concio and Solar Producer Wilson Tieng in 2007 and Producer/Director Cirio Santiago in 2008.

Since the posthumous awards of the Academy was renamed the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award, these were the winners: Actress Nida Blanca and Composer/Film Scorer George Canseco in 2006; Actor/Producer/Director Manuel Conde and Actor Vic Silayan in 2007; and Soundman Juanito Clemente in 2008.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at