Aug 04
ON SIGHT: CRITICS’ LISTS by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Aug 4, 2009

Last of Two Parts

After going through the 27th Luna Awards’ critics’ lists for seven categories, ranging from best director to best sound, last week, let me usher you to the hall of possible nominees in the four acting or performance categories even as we digress into interesting trivia once again.

In enumerations of finalists in almost all film award-giving bodies, the performance Awards—best actor, best actress, best supporting actor and best supporting actress—are only superceded by best picture and best direction. This only proves the veracity of what most movie fans stridently proclaim to the world—that films are still the performers’ medium.

Let us look back to the first 26 years of the Luna Awards. Through these first 26 years, we have 23 best supporting actor winners, 19 best supporting actresses, 15 best actors and 14 best actresses.

Best Supporting Actress

There are only eight possible best actress nominees for films shown in 2008. Only one of them is a previous winner—Jaclyn Jose for Naglalayag (2004) and The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995).

Only one of them had been nominated for the period 2003-2007. She is Eugene Domingo who was nominated for two films in 2007 (Bahay Kubo and Paano Kita Iibigin?).

Also in the running for this coming awards night are Iza Calzado (One True Love), Maricel Laxa (Magkaibigan), Candy Pangilinan (For the First Time), Bots Anson-Roa (When Love Begins), Rizza Santos (Dobol Trobol) and Tessie Tomas (100).

Of the total of 19 previous winners, five actresses went home with the trophies two or more times. With three trophies each are Gina Alajar (for 1996’s Mulanay, 1990’s Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina? and 1984’s Kaya Kong Abutin ang Langit) and the late Nida Blanca (for 1997’s Babae, 1987’s Kid, Huwag Kang Susuko and 1986’s Magdusa Ka).

The two-time winners, aside from Jaclyn Jose, are Amy Austria for Anak (2000) and Narito ang Puso Ko (1992); and Caridad Sanchez for Bagong Buwan (2001) and Maalaala Mo Kaya (1994). The first ever best supporting actress was Liza Lorena for Oro, Plata, Mata in 1982.

Best Supporting Actor

Fighting shoulder to shoulder for nomination in this category are three previous best actor winners and three best supporting actor trophy-holders. One of them, Ricky Davao, already won a trophy each for actor (Minsan May Isang Puso in 2001) and supporting actor (Ipaglaban Mo in 1995).

Philip Salvador, seven-time best actor, is represented by two films, Baler and For the First Time. Three-time best actor winner Christopher de Leon has been cited for When Love Begins. Interestingly, both played father roles in these three films.

Best supporting actor Dante Rivero (for 2007’s A Love Story and 2001’s Tuhog) is cited for A Very Special Love while another two-time winner, Ronaldo Valdez (for 1997’s Nasaan ang Puso? and 1993’s May Minamahal) is cited for When Love Begins.

The other possible nominees are Ricky Davao (Endo), Dick Israel (My Big Love), Jose Manalo (Dobol Trobol), Makisig Morales (Caregiver), and JC de Vera (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend).

It turns out that the most winners in any category of the Luna Awards is the 23 total performers who have won the best supporting trophy. This only underscores the truth that we have a lot of able supports on the acting side.

In fact, there are only three actors who have won twice in this category. We have mentioned Dante and Ronaldo and the third actor is Johnny Delgado who won in consecutive years for the films Ligalig (2006) and La Visa Loca (2005). The first ever winner for best supporting actor was the late Rodolfo ‘Boy’ Garcia for Ito Ba ang Ating mga Anak? (1982).

Best Actress

Two best actress winners and a best supporting actress winner lead this year’s contenders for best actress in the 27th Luna Awards.

Sharon Cuneta, winner for Madrasta (1996) and Sa Hirap at Ginhawa (1984), will fight it out with Judy Ann Santos, who won in 2006 for Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo and also received nominations for Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (2007) and Sabel (2004). The third actress in the ring is Dawn Zulueta, best supporting actress in 1991 (Una Kang Naging Akin). Sharon is cited for Caregiver, Judy Ann for Ploning and Dawn for Magkaibigan.

The other nominees include Anne Curtis who is cited for two films (Baler and When Love Begins); Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat); KC Concepcion (For the First Time); Mylene Dizon (100); Sarah Geronimo (A Very Special Love); and Marian Rivera (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend).

There has been a total of 14 best actress winners and six of them won at least twice. As expected there was the head-to-head rivalry between Nora Aunor and Governor Vilma Santos who won four trophies each. Guy won for The Flor Contem-placion Story (1995), Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M (1991), Andrea, Paano Ba ang Maging Isang Ina (1990) and Bilangin Mo ang Bituin sa Langit (1989). Vi won for Dekada ’70 (2002), Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa? (1998), Dolzura Cortez Story (1993) and Relasyon during the first ever awards night of he Academy.

Lorna Tolentino and Maricel Soriano have three trophies each. LT won for Abakada Ina (2001), Narito ang Puso Ko (1992) and Maging Akin Ka Lamang (1987). Marya won last year for Bahay Kubo, Filipinas (2003) and Nasaan ang Puso (1997) in a tie with Zsa Zsa Padilla.

Aside from Sharon, another two-time winner is Zsa Zsa Padilla for Ako Legal Wife (2006) and Batang PX (1997) in that tie with Maricel.

Best Actor

Three-time winner Christopher de Leon and 2006 best actor John Lloyd Cruz (for All About Love) lead this year’s cited actors. Boyet is cited for Magkaibigan while John is recognized for A Very Special Love.

The other cited actors include Richard Gutierrez who is cited for two films (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend and For the First Time); Dolphy (Dobol Trobol); Jinggoy Estrada (Magkaibigan); John Estrada (Caregiver); Baron Geisler (Torotot); Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins); and Jericho Rosales (Baler).

Scanning the list of finalists for the years 2003 to 2007, four of this year’s cited actors garnered nominations as follows: Christopher de Leon for Mano Po 3 (2004) and Mano Po 2 (2003); Jericho Rosales for Santa Santita (2004); John Lloyd Cruz for One More Chance (2007); and Aga Muhlach for A Love Story (2007).

In the best actor category, we have already a total of 15 winners and four of them are multi-time winners. Philip Salvador is the winningest best actor with seven trophies from the first ever award for Cain at Abel in 1982. The six other trophies were snagged for his roles in Hanggat May Hininga (1996), Ka Hector (1994), Masahol Pa sa Hayop (1993), Boy Negro (1988), Balweg, the Rebel Priest (1987) and Kapit sa Patalim (1985).

The late King of Philippine movies, Fernando Poe Jr., won for Eseng ng Tondo (1997), Muslim Magnum .357 (1986) and Umpisahan Mo, Tatapusin Ko (1983). While the three best actor trophies Boyet won were for Bulaklak ng Manila (1999), Ipagpatawad Mo (1991) and Biktima (1990).

The late Rudy Fernandez won two trophies for Birador (1998) and Batuigas II: Pasukuin si Waway (1984).

An interesting trivia reveals that for the last five years, young actors have been dominating this category. Child actor Jiro Manio started it all in 2003 for Magnifico. He was followed in order by Dennis Trillo for Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004), Marvin Agustin for Kutob (2005), John Lloyd Cruz for All About Love (2006) and Paolo Contis for Banal 2007).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at