Aug 05
1st FAP SCREENPLAY/STORYLINE CONTEST WINNERS by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 5, 2005

The board of governors released the list of winners in the first Film Academy of the Philippines screenplay/storyline writing contest during its election and board meeting last Saturday, July 30.

Three screenplays were declared grand winners which will receive P200,000 prize each while five storylines were adjudged the winners to receive P50,000 each.

The BOG received the final report of a five-member board of judges which declared the winners of the 2004-2005 FAP screenplay/storyline writing contest after a thorough deliberation. The BOG duly ratified the decision. The sealed envelopes containing the true identities of the winning writers were opened infront of the heads of the different guilds comprising the academy.

In the screenplay category, the three grand winners are:

Kwento ni Indo, written by Adolfo B. Alix Jr.

Boy, written byVeronica B. Velasco, based on a story of Antonio Gloria.

Sapi, written by Marlon G. Miguel.

In the storyline category, the five winners are:

Ang Palasyo ni Ivan, written by James Edward Golla.

Mariit 3, written by Leoncio P. Deriada.

Sa Dibdib ng mga Alon, written by Emmanuel A. dela Cruz.

Cinema Goa, written by Jose Abelardo A. Tam.

Siling Labuyo sa Kabilugan ng Buwan, written by Lito Casaje.

Twelve finalists in the screenplay category, as well as six from the storyline category, will be given certificates by the FAP in the awarding ceremonies which is yet to be scheduled and finalized.

The screenplay category finalists include the following:

Bank Holdup. written by Jose Dennis C. Teodosio

Ang Nawawalang Anak ni Rizal, written by Rosemarie L. Pua

Seroks, written by Eduardo J. Lejano Jr.

Sa Hardin ni Maria, written by Ronald C. Fernandez

Giyera Patani (Isang Myusikal), written by Carla Samantha Pulido Ocampo

Gapos, written by Jonathan S. Espiritu

Para Ng sa Langit, written by Rosandrei M. Ladignon

Mga Napigtal na Dahon, written by Alexander Socorro

Kulay, written by Romulo A. Laurino

Sanctus, written by Lito Casaje

Trabaho, written by Edward Trespeces

Aking Awit, written by Caroline R. Labrador

The storyline category finalists are:

Ang Mga Naiwan ni Jenna, written by Clarissa Estular

A Lost Star, written by Lourdes M. Batiles

Huwaran , written by Cris Vertido

Lapitin, written by Michael S. Bernaldez

Pag-ibig. Panaginip. Pag-ibig., written by Lito Casaje

Aurora B., written by Sonia Pascual

The board of judges for this year’s contest was comprised of novelist and scriptwriter Lualhati Bautista; Palaca awards winner and scriptwriter Manny Buising; Directors’ Guild of the Philippines vice-president and scriptwriter Jose Carreon; former Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines president and scriptwriter Senen Dimaguila; and Cine Malaya best picture director and scriptwriter Clodualdo del Mundo Jr. All of them have won the best screenplay awards in various local film awards.

The Academy will be announcing the 2 nd FAP screenplay/storyline writing contest soon.