Apr 20
LUNA AWARDS NOMINEES by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Apr 20, 2005

The Film Academy of the Philippines released last April 14 the final list of nominees for 12 categories of the 23 rd FAP Awards, now called the Luna Awards. Fourteen out of the 23 films cited earlier received nominations in the various categories.

Santa Santita , produced by Unitel Productions, garnered eight nominations, followed by three films with seven nominations each, namely Milan of Star Cinema, Aisheti Imasu 1941 of Bas Films and Panaghoy sa Suba of CM Films.

Naglalayag of Angorra Films chalked up six nominations while Feng Shui of Star Cinema and Mano Po 3 My Love of MAQ Productions had four nominations each.

Two nominations each went to Beautiful Life of Regal Films, Sigaw of Megavision Films and Sabel of Regal Films. Four films got a nomination each, namely, I Will Survive of Regal Films, Kulimlim of Viva Films, Pasiyam of Reality Entertainment Inc. and Spirit of the Glass of Canary Films.

Five nominators for the creative and technical categories chose the Best 5 nominees, except for production design and cinematography which just came up with the Best 4 selection. These nominators met for deliberations on Monday, April 11 while the 10 nominators for the four performance categories met the following day. The nominators had an April 13 deadline to submit their choices and ratings.

The Villarey and Associates auditing firm tabulated the nominators’ ratings and submitted the results to Director General Leo Martinez several hours before the April 14 press conference..

Hereunder is the complete list of nominees for the 23 rd FAP (Luna) Awards:


Aisheti Imasu 1941 (Bas Films), Milan (Star Cinema), Naglalayag (Angorra Films), Panaghoy sa Suba (CM Films) and Santa Santita (United Productions).


Laurice Guillen ( Santa Santita ), Joel Lamangan ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ), Olivia Lamasan ( Milan ), Eric Matti ( Pasiyam ) and Cesar Montano ( Panaghoy sa Suba ).


Christopher de Leon ( Mano Po 3 My Love ), Piolo Pascual ( Milan ), Jericho Rosales ( Santa Santita ), Yul Servo ( Naglalayag ) and Dennis Trillo ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ).


Nora Aunor ( Naglalayag ), Claudine Barretto ( Milan ), Judy Ann Santos ( Sabel ), Vilma Santos ( Mano Po 3 My Love ) and Maricel Soriano ( I Will Survive ).


Johnny Delgado ( Santa Santita ), Ryan Eigenmann ( Milan ), Eddie Garcia ( Mano Po 3 My Love ), Ronnie Lazaro ( Panaghoy sa Suba ) and Jay Manalo ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ).


Amy Austria ( Beautiful Life ), Jacklyn Jose ( Naglalayag ), Hilda Koronel ( Santa Santita ), Daria Ramirez ( Panaghoy sa Suba ) and Gloria Romero ( Beautfiul Life ).


Irma Dimaranan ( Naglalayag ), J. Gracio, M. Yamamoto and Johnny Delgado ( Santa Santita ), Roy Iglesias ( Mano Po 3 My Love ), Ricardo Lee ( Sabel ) and Cris Vertido ( Panaghoy sa Suba ).


Shayne Clemente ( Milan ), Ely Cruz ( Panaghoy sa Suba ), Yam Laranas ( Sigaw ) and Lee Meily ( Santa Santita ).


Raymond Bajarias ( Feng Shui ), Edgar Martin Littaua ( Santa Santita ), Joey Luna ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ) and Nuel Naval ( Milan ).


Vito Cajili (nominated twice for Feng Shui and Spirit of the Glass ), Manet Dayrit ( Sigaw ), and Marya Ignacio (nominated twice for Aisheti Imasu 1941 and Milan ).


Nonong Buencamino ( Panaghoy sa Suba ), Carmina Cuya ( Feng Shui ), Von de Guzman ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ), Vincent de Jesus ( Santa Santita ) and Lutgardo Labad ( Naglalayag ).


Albert Idioma ( Feng Shui ), Nestor Mutia and Angie Reyes ( Naglalayag ), Angie Reyes and Nestor Mutia ( Panaghoy sa Suba ), Ramon Reyes ( Aisheti Imasu 1941 ) and Ramon Reyes and Angie Reyes ( Kulimlim ).

The ultimate phase of picking the winners for this year’s Luna Awards will be the final voting scheduled on May 11 from 10 a.m to 3 p.m. at the UP Film Center. Thirty voters each from the working guilds, 20 voters from the Assistant Directors and Production Managers’ guild and five voters each from the Actors’ Workshop Foundation and the OSFILM will take part in the final selection process.

The awards night—with the golden ages of Philippine cinema as its theme– is scheduled on May 14 at the Westin Philippine Plaza. The traditional red carpet walk of fame is scheduled several hours before the main awards and the director general’s ball will cap and highlight this day of glamour and festivities.