Apr 13
FPJ LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Apr 13, 2005

The Film Academy of the Philippines lifetime achievement award will henchforth be named the Fernando Poe Jr. lifetime achievement award. And its first awardee is producer and film industry leader Mrs. Marichu P. Maceda.

The FAP board of governors, in a meeting last March 30, voted unanimously to rename the award in honor and as a tribute to the late King of Philippine Movies Fernando Poe Jr., who himself was a recipient of two special awards from the FAP, namely the lifetime achievement award in 1990 and the rarely given Golden Reel Award in 2002.

Inasmuch as this will be the first time the Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented, the FAP will not be giving out other special awards this year. The other FAP special awards include the Lamberto Avellana Memorial award, the Posthumous Recognition award, the Posthumous Special Recognition, the Special Recognition award and the Golden Reel award.

Through the years, the lifetime achievement awardees included the following: Director Gerardo de Leon (1983); Director Manuel Silos, Writer-Director Luis Nolasco, Special Effects Man Totoy Torrente, Director Richard Abelardo and Writer-Director Consuelo ‘Ateng’ Osorio (1985);

Sound and Color Technician William Smith, Actress Mary Walter and Composer Juan Silos Jr. (1986); Cinematographer Felipe J. Sacdalan, Editor Enrique Jarlego Sr., Actor Pancho Magalona and Actress Tita Duran ((1987); Actor Leopoldo Salcedo, Comedienne Chichay, Lyricist Levi Celerio and Actress Bella Flores (1988);

Actor-Produce-Mowelfund-Founder Joseph Estrada and former Senator and Actor Rogelio dela Rosa (1989); Actor-Writer-Producer-Director Fernando Poe Jr. and Producer and Founder of the FAP Manuel de Leon (1990); Actor-Producer Rodolfo V. Quizon, more popularly known as Dolphy, and Writer-Producer J. Eddie Infante (1991);

Producer Atty. Esperidion Laxa and Actress Nora Aunor (1992); Actor-Director Victoriano Ramos Villanueva (1993); Musical Director Josefino Cenizal, Director Pablo Santiago and Cinematographer Luis Chiong (1994); Actress Anita Linda (1995); Actress Vilma Santos (1996);

Actor-Director Eddie Garcia (1998); Director-Producer Eddie Romero, Actor-Director Eddie Rodriguez and Musical Director Tito Arevalo (1999); Actress Gloria Romero (2000); Actress Susan Roces (2001); and Writer-Director Augusto Buenaventura (2003).

Those who have received the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award included Director Lino Brocka (1990), Writer-Director Eddie Romero (1993), Director Nicolas Deocampo (1994), Actress Rosa Rosal (1996) and Film Historian Ben Pinga (1998).

Special Recognition Awards were given in 1989 to Actresses Rita Gomez and Carmen Rosales, Comedy Team Pugo and Tugo, and Actor-Comedian German Moreno (1989). Showbiz clans were honored in 1990, includinmg the Ilagans, the Salvadors and the Padillas. Individual awardees were Dr. Uwe Schmelter, Actor Robin Padilla and Actress Sharon Cuneta. The other annual awardees were Director Eric O. de Guia, better known as Kidlat Tahimik, (1993) and Artist Carlos ‘Botong’ Francisco (1994).

The Academy also handed out posthumous awards. These were special recognition awards to Fernando Poe Sr. and Director Armando Garces; and recognition awards to Cinematographer Mike Accion (1991), Director Lamberto Avellana (1990) and Actress Charito Solis (1998).

The rarely presented Golden Reel Awards had so far been given to former President Cory Aquino, Actor-Writer-Producer Fernando Poe Jr. and Writer-Director Eddie Romero.