Apr 13
ALL SYSTEMS GO by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Apr 13, 2005

The Film Academy of the Philippines awards will once again unfold on May 14 this year with its usual red-carpet glitter and industry-wide participation of performers and craftsmen alike…but with a big and much-awaited difference.

Nameless for the last 22 years, the much coveted FAP trophy has finally got a name. From now on, just call her Luna. (See Statuette Winners on Website April 6 for the rationale behind the naming of the trophy statuette as Luna)

According to FAP Director General Leo Martinez, it is officially all systems go for the three main events for the May 14 affair—the red carpet walk of fame, the main awards and the director general’s ball.

Unlike last year where the red carpet event and the main awards were held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines, all three events will be concentrated in just one venue this time—the Westin Philippine Plaza.

The red carpet and the main awards will be held at the hotel’s Harbor Garden Tent while the ball will follow at the Westin Grand Ballroom.

The theme of this year’s awards night, as firmed up by the Academy, together with Big Mango Studio Productions Inc. (as overall event coordinator), will celebrate the Golden Ages of Philippine Cinema which will trace over 50 years of Philippine movie magic and pride.

The Big Day will commence at 2 p.m. with the red carpet walk of fame. Star actors and actresses and other bigwigs and personalities from the movie industry will be chauffered to the red carpet area by BMW cars courtesy of BMW Philippines. These personalities will alight from their BMWs at a point where the red carpet actually unfurls. The carpet, wide as an ordinary street, will be covered with a white cathedral-like ceiling tent.

The female stars will, thus, parade down the red carpet, attired in 50s-inspired fashion created by our well-known local coutouriers. As planned by Big Mango, the men will be wearing Tux by Bergamo . Bulgari, Jewelmer and Fe Panlilio will provide their exquisite jewelries to several celebrities to wear throughout the entire event.

One of the country’s top TV hosts, Boy Abunda, will host this part of the celebration. Providing anchoring assistance will be Tim Yap, a fashion guru and eventologist, and Jenni Epperson, host of the TV show Good Finds on the Lifestyle Network Celebrities will be ushered to stations of the different TV channels, namely, ABS-CBN, ABC 5, GMA 7, RPN 9, IBC 13 and cable stations, to be featured in their respective shows.

At the end of the red carpet, hors d’oeuvres and cocktails will be served until the main awards starts at approximately 5 p.m.

Big Mango has already forwarded to Director General Martinez the tentative sequence breakdown of the awards night together with its concepts of presentation.

The main hosts/emcees for the awards are Ogie Alcasid, Dina Bonnevie and Cherie Gil.

The opening number, a medley of songs by Ogie, will already highlight the theme of the awards, a tribute to the three golden ages of Philippine cinema—the 50s, the mid ‘70s and the 90s.

Aside from the annual Luna awards to be given out for the past year’s outstanding works, there are two other major portions of the program. These are the presentation of the newly-renamed Fernando Poe Jr. lifetime achievement award and the giving of prizes to the winners of the first ever FAP scriptwriting/storyline contest.

For the event’s finale of the day’s glittering frenzy, there is the SMART Infinity/MEGA Magazine director general’s ball at the grand ballroom of Westin Philippines Plaza . The ballroom will be transformed into a 1950’s look by well-renowned florist/stylist Robert Blancaflor.

With a big band playing 50’s-inspired music, a celebrity fashion show will be held wherein three fashion designers will be awarded for the Best 50’s inspired gowns. Emcees for this event is Paulo Bediones, the host of no. 1 reality tv show Extra Challenge and co-host of S Files, and Iya Villana.

RPN 9 will be covering the red carpet affair live from 3 to 5 p.m. , May 14. The main awards, also covered by RPN 9, will be shown from 7 to 11 p.m. , May 14. While the director general’s ball will be telecast on May 21 from 10 to 11 p.m. , also on RPN 9.