Jun 08
PLETHORA OF FILMOGRAHIES (Part 3) by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Jun 8, 2009

Aspiring nominees for the last categories of the 27th Luna Awards account for the fewest number, ranging from 11 to 24. These categories are often referred to as the most collegial of the 12 trophies at stake for achievements in films in the year 2008.

Year after year and almost consecutively, a number of nominees figure in a free-for-all in obvious rematches from the previous year’s awards. Let us scan the nominee aspirants for the production design, editing, musical scoring and sound categories.

Production Design

Of the 29 films previewed by the citers, one has four PDs (Pisay), one has three PDs (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), two has 2 PDs (Kulam and Serbis) and two has no Pds at all (the animation films Urduja and Dayo).

Three previous winners of the production design Luna are again in contention this year. They are 1989 winner Raymond Bajarias who shared this trophy with Ray Maliwanag, Jerry Pascual and Freddie Valencia for Pahiram ng Isang Umaga. Raymond had two films last year (My Big Love and Caregiver).

1992 winner Edgar Martin Littaua for Apoy sa Puso is represented with three flms last year—One True Love, Kulam (with Mario Lipit) and Desperadas 2. Richard Somes, 2005 winner for Exodus, did Iskul Bukol last year.

Like Raymond Bajarias, five other production designers had two films last year and these are Danny Cristobas (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Ikaw Pa Rin), Sonny Maculada (One Night Only and Magkaibigan), Bing Santos (Torotot and an episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Gerry Santos (For the First Time and Concerto) and Erick D. Torralba (I.T.A.L.Y. and My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend).

The PD tandems (aside from Kulam) were Martin Masadao, Reggie Regalado, Dante Garcia and Endi Balbuena for Pisay; Willy Urbino and Mark Sabas for the other two episodes of Shake, Rattle & Roll 10; and Benjamin Padero and Carlo Tabije for Serbis.

The other production designers with at least one film for 2008 are Nancy Arcega (A Very Special Love), Do Cadapan (Dobol Trobol), Rene Clarido (Paupahan), Jack Cogama (Endo), Ronnie Cruz (When Love Begins), Raymond George Fernandez (Ploning), Abby Jamnague-Rivera (100), Aped Santos (Baler) and Maricris Silva (My Only You),


There are 18 nominee aspirants for editing, including three previous winners. Seven editors chalked two or more film assignments in 2008. Leading them is Marya Ignacio with six films to her credit. Marya won consecutive editing Lunas in 2004 (Aishite Imasu 1941) and 2005 (Nasaan Ka Man). In 2008, she did the editing for I.T.A.L.Y., For the First Time, My Only You, A Very Special Love, Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Ikaw Pa Rin.

Like Marya, two other previous winners are in the running for the 2008 awards. They are Jess Navarro who won in 1999 (Sidhi), 2000 (Death Row) and 2007 (Silip) and Vito Cajili who won in 2003 (Malikmata) and 2006 (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo). Last year, Jess had Torotot and Vito had When Love Begins and Magkaibigan).

Five other editors did two or more films in 2008. They include Tara Illenberger with four films (One Night Only, My Besfriend’s Girlfriend, Desperadas 2 and an episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Danny Anonuevo with three films (Ploning,Baler and Iskul Bukol).

With two films each are Renewin Alano (Kulam and episodes 2 & 3 of Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Manet Dayrit (Caregiver and Urduja) and Michael Pestano (My Big Love and Kulam with Ric de Guzman and Renewin Alano),

Represented by a film each are Laz Ande Arthmael (Concerto), John Ballesteros (Pisay), Kelly Cruz (Dobol Trobol), JD Domingo (Endo), Sheryll Lopez (One True Love), Robert Quilao and Edmerick Santos (Dayo), Ralph Soriano (Paupahan), Ike Veneracion (100) and Claire Villa-Real (Serbis).

Musical Score

The second lowest number of nominee aspirants is in the music scoring category. However, three previous winners are also in the running for the film achievements of 2008. They are 2005 winner Von de Guzman for Blue Moon, 2006 winner Vincent de Jesus for Zsa Zsa Saturnnah and 2007 winner Carmina Robles-Cuya for Ouija.

In 2008, Von had three films (One True Love, Kulam and Desperadas 2); Vincent had four films (I.T.A.L.Y., Baler, My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend, Pisay and Ikaw Pa Rin); and Carmina had one film (Caregiver).

But the busiest scorer in 2008 was Jesse Lasaten with seven films (Ploning, For the First Time, My Only You, My Big Love, A Very Special Love, Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Dayo). Jesse Lucas came second with four scores (One Night Only, Torotot, When Love Begins and Magkaibigan) and Michael Alba had two films (Iskul Bukol and Dobol Trobol).

Nine other scorers ae vying for nominations with three of them doing the score for Urduja, namely Mon Faustino, Noel Zarate and Ogie Alcasid. Those with one film each are Onel Alvero (Endo), Jed Balsam (Concerto), Brian Cua (100), Gian Gianan (Serbis), Enrico Narvaez (Paupahan) and Alfred Ongleo (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10).


The nominee aspirants for sound is the lowest number in any category There are only 11 sound mixers who actually did films in 2008. But the four winners for the years 2003 to 2007 are represented by two or more works.

Albert Michael Idioma won consecutively in 2003 (Malikmata) and 2004 (Feng-Shui) and mixed a total of five films in 2008—Ploning, When Love Begins, Caregiver, Urduja and Dayo—and worked in tandem with Addiss Tabong in One Night Only, Iskul Bukol and Dobol Trobol.

Addiss Tabong—2005 winner for Nasaan Ka Man—himself had one solo work (A Very Special Love) and also worked in tandem with Ronald de Asis in Pisay.

Angie Reyes, winner in 2006 for Till I Met You, had three fiims in 2008 (Torotot, Paupahan and Ikaw Pa Rin) while 2007 winner Ditoy Aguila for Ouija had two films in 2008 (I.T.A.L.Y. and Baler).

There are six other sound technicians vying for nominations. They include Lamberto Casas Jr. who had four films (For the First Time, My Only You, Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Ronald de Asis with three films (Concerto, Magkaibigan and Pisay with Tabong); and four others with a film each—Emmanuel Nolet Clemente (Serbis), Arniold Reodica (Desperadas 2), Corrine de San Jose (Endo) and Mac Vasquez (100).

The odds are highest that double or even triple nominations might occur in the best musical score and sound categories, considering the least number of nominee aspirants. This coming true is now in the hands of the nominators—the second level of film workers who will judge the works of their peers and come up with the final list of nominees.


Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/