May 29
PLETHORA OF FILMOGRAPHIES by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 29, 2009

Part 2

As is usually the case every year, the most number of aspirants in almost all award-giving bodies like the Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines almost always come from the ranks of supporting performer categories.

This year, a cursory scanning of the filmographies of the 29 films—make that 27 because two are animation films—screened by the FAP citers reveals that there are 72 possible supporting actor nominees and 51 possible supporting actress nominees.

Nineteen actors appear in two or three films for 2008 while only seven actresses played supporting roles in two or more films.


The award with the most number of possible aspirants, the best supporting actor category, includes nine former winners. This is not surprising because Luna Awards trivia listed supporting actors as the largest bloc of winners in the 26 years the Academy has given out awards.

Actually, there had been only three two-time winners in this category. Ronaldo Valdez won in 1993 (May Minamahal) and 1997 (Nasaan ang Puso?). Dante Rivero, last year’s winner for A Love Story, first won in 2001 for Tuhog. Johnny Delgado was back-to-back winner in 2005 (La Visa Loca) and 2007 (Ligalig). Two of them have a film each in 2007—Ronaldo Valdez with When Love Begins ad Dante Rivero with A Very Special Love.

Other actors with a Luna best supporting actor trophy tucked under their belts who are also vying again this year are the following:

Michael de Mesa (1985 winner for Paradise Inn) was featured in Baler; Eddie Gutierrez (1991/Uubusin Ko ang Lahi Mo) was featured in For the First Time; Tirso Cruz III (1992/Kahit Buhay Ko) was in Magkaibigan; Ricky Davao (1995/Ipaglaban Mo) appeared in Endo and Dobol Trobol; Carlo Aquino (1998/Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa?) appeared in Baler and Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat; Pen Medina (2000/Death Row) had a role in I.T.A.L.Y.; and Jay Manalo (2004/Aishite Imasu 1941) was in Paupahan.

There are only two actors who appeared in three supporting roles last year, namely Allen Dizon with Baler, Paupahan and Ikaw Pa Rin and Janus del Prado with My Only You, My Big Love and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10.

Actors who appeared in two films include Jon Avila (One Night Only and When Love Begins), Criz Daluz (Kulam and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Will Devaughn (A Very Special Love and Desperadas 2), Ryan Eigenmann (Ploning and 100), Mart Escudero (Kulam and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10);

Baron Geisler (Baler and Torotot), John Lapus (Ikaw Pa Rin and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Jose Manalo (Iskul Bukol and Dobol Trobol), Bernard Palanca (Baler and A Very Special Love), Benjie Paras (Iskul Bukol and My Only You);

Richard Quan (One True Love and Paupahan), Wendell Ramos (Desperadas 2 and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10), Philip Salvador (Baler and For the First Time), Joel Torre (Ploning and Baler) and TJ Trinidad (Desperadas 2 and Kulam),

Going through the list of supporting actors revealed that even lead actors appeared in supporting roles last year. The list included Aljur Abrenica (I.T.A.L.Y.), Ryan Agoncillo (Iskul Bukol), Dan Alvaro (Serbis), Bobby Andrews (For the First Time), Jake Cuenca (For the First Time), Christopher de Leon (When Love Begins), Jao Mapa (Baler), Jiro Manio (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat), Coco Martin (Serbis), Leo Martinez (Baler), Makisig Morales (Caregiver), Dennis Padilla (My Only You), Rafael Roselle (When Love Begins) and JC de Vera (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend).


For the supporting actress category, five previous winners are in contention once more. They are Monique Wilson who won in 1993 (Kapag Iginuhit ang Hatol ng Puso) and was in Caregiver; Serena Dalrymple who won in 1998 (Bata, Bata…Paano Ka Ginawa?) and was in Ang Tanging na Niyong Lahat; Cherrie Pie Picache who won in 2002 (American Adobo) and was in Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat; Gloria Romero who won in 2003 (Magnifico) and was in Paupahan; and Gina Pareno who won in 2006 (Kasal Kasali, Kasalo) and was in Ploning.

Heading the list based on the number of films they appeared in are the following: Eugene Domingo had five films (Ploning, For the First Time, Pisay, Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Ikaw Pa Rin); Boots Anson-Roa with three (One True Love, When Love Begins and Caregiver); Tessie Thomas with three (One True Love, Ploning and 100); Dexter Doria, two (Paupahan and Dobol Trobol); Jenica Garcia, two (One True Love and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Pilar Pilapil, two (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend and For the First Time); and Ces Quesada, two (Ploning and Paupahan).

There is a good number of senior and not so senior character actresses represented by their 2008 films. These include Irma Adlawan (A Very Special Love); Sandy Adolong (My Big Love); Debraliz (Ikaw Pa Rin); Gloria Diaz (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat); Mylene Dizon (Ploning); Mickey Ferriols (Caregiver); Jean Garcia (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Ida Henares (I.T.A.L.Y.); Nanette Inventor (Ikaw Pa Rin); Agot Isidro (A Very Special Love); Vangie Labalan (My Only You); Angelu de Leon (Paupahan); Flora Gasser (Torotot), Malou de Guzman (My Big Love); Lotlot de Leon (Caregiver); Anita Linda (Caregiver); Rio Locsin (Baler); Pinky Marquez (One True Love); Maricar de Mesa (Torotot); Arlene Muhlach (My Only You); Candy Pangilinan (For the First Time); Rica Peralejo (Caregiver); Anna Roces (For the First Time); Marissa Sanchez (My Big Love); Meryll Soriano (Ploning); Deborah Sun (My Bestfriend’s Girfriend); Beth Tamayo (Ploning); Nova Villa (Desperadas 2) and Marita Zobel (Caregiver).

The younger actresses include Nikki Bacolod (Baler); Kris Bernal (Kulam); Sheena Halili (One True Love); Bianca King (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Ehra Madrigal (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend); Shaina Magdayao (Ang Tanging ina Niyong Lahat); Krista Ranillo (Magkaibigan); Empress Schuck (Magkaibigan) and Denise del Valle (When Love Begins).


There is a total of 21 aspirants for the best cinematography award and four of them are previous winners, including the winningest cameraman in Luna Award history.

Romy Vitug, who is represented by his 2008 work Paupahan, had already won this particular trophy eight times already—1982 to 1985 (for Sinasamba Kita, Paano Na ang Mangarap?, Isla and Paradise Inn; 1987 (Saan Nagtatago ang Pagibig); 1990 (Kapag Langit ang Humatol); and 1994 and 1995 (Maalaala Mo Kaya and Sana Maulit Muli).

Shayne Sarte nee Clemente won in 2002 for Kailangan Kita and shot For the First Time last year. Charlie Peralta won in 2005 for Nasaan Ka Man and made Ploning and Pisay last year while Jay Linao, who won in 2006 for Eternity, is now represented by I.T.A.L.Y.

Eight cinematographers made two or three films last year. Rodolfo Aves Jr. was the only one who made three (One Night Only, When Love Begins and Magkaibigan). Seven others (including Peralta) have two films each, namely Eli Balce (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend and Caregiver); Odyssey Flores (Serbis and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10 episode); Gary Garduce (Dobol Trobol and Shake, Rattle & Roll 10 episode); Sherman Philip So (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat and Ikaw Pa Rin); Manuel Teehankee (My Only You and A Very Special Love) and Mo Zee (One True Love and Kulam).

Nine others have one film each for the last year. They are Ike Avellana (My Big Love), Wowie Hao (Endo), Larry Manda (100), Lee Meily (Baler), Lito Mempin (Iskul Bukol), Carlo Mendoza (Torotot), Luis Quirino (Shake Rattle & Roll 10 episode), Regiben Romana (Concerto) and Lyle Sacris (Desperadas 2).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at