May 22
A PLETHORA OF FILMOGRAPHIES by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 22, 2009

First of Three Parts

The citers of the Film Academy of the Philippines are about finally over with the screening of 29 films. They have three remaining films to preview next week before they draw up their ten best lists of possible nominees for 11 categories of the 27th Luna Awards.

Before every screening, the citers were handed the printed filmographies of the two films scheduled for the day. These became their guide if they miss the opening or end credits that list the film workers involved in the film being previewed.

A Xeroxed copy of each printed pair of filmographies invariably found its way on my desk every screening day. With three more films to go, I took the time to rummage through this file and come up with trivia about last year’s harvest of films and the probable nominees who might get acknowledged by the citers.

In the first part of this article, let us discuss the possible candidates for nomination in the best actor, best actress, best director and best screenplay categories.

Best Actor

There are 26 possible lead actor roles that may snag nominations. Only two actors have two entries for the past year—Richard Gutierrez for My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend and For the First Time and Vic Sotto for Dobol Trobol and Iskul Bukol (20 Years Later).

Young lead actors slightly outnumber veteran actors in this year’s derby. The Luna Awards best actor trophy had gone to four different young actors in the last four years. Three of them have entries for last year. Winner Dennis Trillo (for Aishite Imasu 1941 in 2004) has I.T.A.L.Y.; John Lloyd Cruz (for All About Love in 2006 in 2006) has A Very Special Love; and Paolo Contis (for Banal in 2007) has One Night Only.

Other young actors contending for nominations re Dingdong Dantes (One True Love); Jericho Rosales (Baler); Vhong Navarro (My Only You); and Sam Milby (My Big Love).

The veteran actors vying for nominations include three-time Luna best actor winner Christopher de Leon with Magkaibigan and one-time winner Ricky Davao with One Night Only. Boyet won trophies in 1990 (Biktima), 1991 (Ipagpatawad Mo) and 1999 (Bulaklak ng Maynila). Ricky won in 2001 for Minsan May Isang Puso.

Other senior actors include Julio Diaz (Serbis), Tito Sotto and Joey de Leon (Iskul Bukol), Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins), John Estrada (Caregiver), Jinggoy Estrada (Magkaibigan) and Robin Padilla (Ikaw Pa Rin).

Best Actress

Twenty eight actresses literally have the chance to bag a nomination in the best actress category. One of them has three films in the running while six have two films each.

Marian Rivera have One True Love, My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend and Desperadas
With two films under their belts are Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ikaw Pa Rin and Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat); Iza Calzado (One True Love and Desperadas 2); Anne Curtis (Baler and When Love Begins); Toni Gonzaga (My Big Love and My Only You); Rufa Mae Quinto (I.T.A.L.Y. and Desperadas 2); and Judy Ann Santos (Ploning and Kulam)..

There are only two former best actress winners with films last year. They are Sharon Cuneta (Caregiver) who won in 1984 for Sa Hirap at Ginhawa and in 1996 for Madrasta. Jud Ann Santos won in 2006 for Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo.

There are only four other veteran actresses in this year’s derby—Gina Pareno and Jacklyn Jose (both for Serbis) and Dawn Zulueta and Maricel Laxa (both for Magkaibigan).

A plethora of young actresses appeared in films last yea and are up for contention. They are Alessandra da Rossi, Valeria Concepcion, Katrina Halili, Diana Zubiri and Jennlyn Mecad (all for One Night Only); Jolina Magdanga, Rhian Ramos and Eugene Domingo (all for I.T.A.L.Y.); Carlene Aguilar (Iskul Bukol); KC Concepcion (For the First Time); Mylene Dizon (100); Kristine Hermosa (My Big Love; Maui Taylor (Torotot); Ina Feleo (Endo); Sarah Geronimo (A Very Special Love and Ruffa Gutierrez (Desperadas 2).

Best Director

There are 22 directors vying for nominations with two of them coming up with animation films. One director has three films to his name while five others have two films each.

Jose Javier Reyes (winner in 2006 for Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo) has When Love Begins and two Metro Manila Filmfest entries (One Night Only and Magkaibigan).
Mark Reyes has I.T.A.L.Y. and My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend; Tony Reyes has Dobol Trobol and Iskul Bukol; Cathy Garcia-Molina has My Only You and A Very Special Love; Jade Francis Castro has Endo and My Big Love; and Wenn Deramas has Ikaw Pa Rin and Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat.

With entries this year is four-time winner Joel Lamangan (Desperadas 2) who won for Pangako ng Kahapon (1994), The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995), Bulaklak ng Maynila (1999) and Aishite Imasu 1941 (2005). Two-time winners Maryo J. delos Reyes (Torotot) won for Magnifico (2003) and for A Love Story last year.

With a film in contention this year are Mac Alejandre (One True Love); Mark Meily (Baler); Brilliante Mendoza (Serbis); Joyce Bernal (For the First Time); Michael Tuviera and Toppel Lee (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Chito Rono (Caregiver); Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning); Chris Martinez (100); Aureus Solito (Pisay); Paul Alexander Moales (Concert); Joven Tan (Paupahan); and Jun Luna (Kulam). Two directed animation films, Reggie Entienza for Urduja and Robert Quilao for Dayo.

Best Screenplay

A total of 36 writers are vying for nominations. The number is high because many films were a collaboration of two or more scriptwriters.

Jose Javier Reyes have three films as he wrote the script of the films he directed. Those with two scripts each are Roy Iglesias (Baler and Desperadas 2); Chris Martinez (100 and Caregiver); Jun Lana (Torotot and Kulam which was co-written with Elmer Gatchalian and Renato Custodio); Michiko Yamamoto (Endo which was co-written with Jade Castro and Raymond Lee and My Big Love which was co-written with Theodore Boboral); and Mel Mendoza del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat) and Ikaw Pa Rin).

The other writers include Irma Dimaranan (One True Love); Dante Nico Garcia & Benjamin Lingan (Ploning); Senedy Que (I.T.A.L.Y.); Suzette Doctolero (My Bestfriend’s Girlfriend); Armando Lao (Serbis); Tony Reyes & Isabel da Rosa (Iskul Bukol); Vanessa Valdez (For the First Time); Joko Roque & Tanya Bautista (My Only You); Henry Grageda (Pisay); Ellen Estrada, Cheryl Narvasa, Pin Tuviera & Alex Vicencio (Shake, Rattle & Roll 10); Paul Alexander Morales (Concerto); Raz Sobido dela Torre (A Very Special Love); Dennis Evangelista (Paupahan); RJ Nueva, Tina Samson & Mon Roca (Dobol Trobol).

Four of them have already won a best screenplay Luna. They are Mel del Rosario in 1996 (Wanted: Perfect Mother); Michiko Yamamoto in 2003 (Magnifico); Jose Javier Reyes in 2006 (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo) and last year’s Vanessa Valdez (A Love Story).

(To be continued)