May 15
NEW ACTORS’ GUILD OFFICERS ELECTED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 15, 2009

The Actors’ Guild or the Kapisanan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon (KAPPT) elected its new set of officers which will be headed by Philip Salvador as president and Rez Cotez as chairman. The election was held at the new MOWELFUND office of the guild last Sunday, May 10.

The KAPPT elected its new 15 board members during its Christmas party at the Mowelfund Plaza last December 27.

Ten of the 15 newly elected board members were present during the election for the six KAPPT officers. With this quorum, the elected officers are the following:

Rez Cortez, chairman of the board; Philip Salvador, president; Tirso Cruz III, vice-president for internal affairs; Patrick dela Rosa, vice president for external affairs; Lyn Madrigal, secretary; and Gina Alajar, treasurer.

The other board directors are: Jeorge ‘ER’ Ejercito Estregan (outgoing president); Amay Bisaya (outgoing vice-president for external affairs); Baldo Marro; Rey Solo; Dick Israel; Jestoni Alarcon; Vic Felipe (outgoing chairman); Joko Diaz; and Pol Pepito. The last five were absent during the elections.

Eight incumbent directors, including Pagsanjan Mayor Ejercito Estregan, and seven new directors, led by actor Philip Salvador, won seats for the 15-member board of directors last December.

Aside from Mayor Estregan, those re-elected included Vic Felipe, Amay Bisaya, Rez Cortez, Baldo Marro, Dick Israel, Tirso Cruz III and Rey Solo.

The other new directors included Gina Alajar, Jestoni Alarcon, Patrick de la Rosa, Joko Diaz, Lyn Madrigal and Pol Pepito.

Incumbent directors who lost in the elections or did not run anymore were vice-president for internal affairs Conrad Poe, the late Cris Daluz, treasurer Pamela Amor, Vice-Mayor Herbert Bautista, Efren Reyes Jr., Lucy Quinto and Niño Muhlach.

Outgoing president Jeorge E.R. Estregan (whose real name is Emilio Ramon Pelayo Ejercito III) is on his third consecutive term as the mayor of Pagsanjan, Laguna. A son of the late George Estregan, E. R. became popular for his villain roles though his dream role, up to this day, is to play the late Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo. He was the eighth KAPPT president.

Aside from Mayor Estregan, the other KAPPT presidents included Actor-Director Robert Arevalo, Actor-Director-Producer Fernando Poe Jr., Actor Paquito Diaz, Actor-Producer Rudy Fernandez, Actor Edu Manzano and Actor-Director-Producer Ronnie Ricketts and Actor German Moreno.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at