Oct 27
MGA FAPOURRI by Kiko Arroyo  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Oct 27, 2004

The 1st FAP Script and Storyline twin writing contest is the first of its kind in the country. To eliminate the mystery of the storyline, a heavily-attended symposium was recently held at Mowelfund to clarify the contest rules and provide attendees with pointers. A minimum of 5 pages of regular bond paper with single-spaced text, the storyline should be adaptable to a screenplay. Unlike the short story with a simple plot, the storyline requires a dynamic story development and several main characters. The journey to winning the 50,000-peso grand prize starts with the entry form which can be had at the FAP office or via email request to fapwebmb@yahoo.com or downloaded from this site. And for those who have the skills, time and patience to write full-length scripts, there will be 3 winners of 200,000 pesos each for the Scriptwriting contest.

“The symposium attendees and guest speakers at Mowelfund’s Bulwagang Jose Nepomuceno”

Ang harapan ng FAP office sa Octo-Arts Building ay isa na ngayong “convergence zone” ng mga movie industry people mula sa mga cinematographers, writers at pati mga directors. Sa kabutihang loob ng Film Academy, libre ang kape at ang ilang mahahabang upuan ay may kutson pa. Ito ay sa paglalayon na magkaroon ng pagkakaisa ang mga taong pelikula tungo sa kaunlaran. Pangarap ng Film Academy na makapagtayo ng sariling gusali kung saan ang lahat ng mga taong pelikula ay mabibigyan ng kanilang lugar.

SGP (Screenwriters Guild of the Philippines, Inc.) had undergone an organizational overhaul with the recent registration of incorporation with the SEC. The acting Chairman is GINA MARISSA TAGASA, a seasoned writer well-known for her tearjerker teleplays aside from being the daughter of Miss Tapia (Mely Tagasa). Buddy Palad retained the presidency and Hernan Robles is the new Vice-president who will be handling the heavy task of operations. Salvador Chua was named Secretary and Leleng Ubaldo is the Treasurer. The Directors of the interim Board are Jomari Avellana, Joe Carreon, Boots Bautista, Manny Buising to name a few. An election is scheduled early next year to formalize the new set of Directors and officers who will fast-track the long list of commendable projects that will benefit the professional, amateur and aspiring writers. Those wishing to be writers can join SGPI by emailing to sgp_info@yahoo.com or by calling 415-3547 or 415-3880.

Para sa mga nagtatanong tungkol sa Computer Workshop ng FAP, pasensya na po kayo dahil naiba ang schedule. Abangan ang susunod na announcement ukol dito.

We want to share our observation on the recent monthly FAP Board of Governors’ meeting. The most senior in the group are UFIMDAP’s Josefino Cenizal followed by OSFILM’s Ben Pinga who are both in their 80s. The prettiest face belongs to Mowelfund Executive Director Boots Anson-Roa. The most popular personality is Dugong, also known as Malou De Guzman (hope we got her name right).

Sa nakaraang election ng FEGMP (Film Editors Guild for Motion Pictures) ay nahirang na mga bagong opisyal sina:

President: JOE SOLO and JESS NAVARRO (tabla ang boto)
Vice-President: DANNY GLORIA
Board of Directors:

Congratulations sa inyong lahat.