Mar 11
35TH METRO MANILA FILMFEST LAUNCHED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Mar 11, 2009

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Bayani Fernando launched the 35th Metropolitan Manila Film Festival during an appreciation dinner hosted by the Filmfest Executive Committee held last Friday, March 6, at the Shangrila Restaurant on West Avenue, Q.C.

The Filmfest Executive Committee will soon meet to set the deadline for the submission of screenplay-entries and decide on the number of entries. Last year, there were eight entries which were shown simultaneously. In 2007, nine entries participated with six films opening on Christmas Day and the other three films on New Year’s Day.

In his speech before the official launching, Chairman Fernando—who is also the chairman of the Execom—again stressed that their primary objective for the festival is for it to make money at the box office.

He said that in so doing, producers were still able to come up with artistic films as shown last year when all eight entries were rated A or B by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines.

During the launching/appreciation dinner, the first tranche of subsidies from the share of the amusement taxes during the festival were distributed to six beneficiaries.

The Presidential Social Fund of Malacanang and MOWELFUND each received P1.2 million. The Film Academy of the Philippines and the Film Development Council of the Philippines each received P400,000 while the Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council and the Optical Media Board each received P200,000.

Cash awards for the winners of the 2008 Filmfest were also handed out together with the cash prizes to the seven major winners of the Cash sa Pelikula raffle contest.

MOWELFUND Executive Director Boots Anson-Roa will act as the master of ceremonies. Those who provided musical numbers were Manilyn Reynes, Mark Bautista, Nicky Bacolod and Jo Ann Lim. Providing keyboard music throughout the night were Director Pablo Vergara and Ramir Bautista.

All but one of the winners of the last Filmfest Awards received their cash prizes. They included the following:

Best Picture: Baler.
2nd Best Picture: Iskul Bukol 20 years later OctoArts/M-Zet & APT Productions.
3rd Best Picture: Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat (Star Cinema).
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Baler.
Best Director: Mark Meily for Baler.
Best Actor: Christopher de Leon for Magkaibigan.
Best Actress: Anne Curtis for Baler.
Best Supporting Actor: Philip Salvador for Baler.
Best Supporting Actress: Manilyn Reynes for One Night Only.
Best Child Performer: Robert Villar for Shake, Rattle & Roll 10.
Best Screenplay: Baler.
Best Original Story: Jose Javier Reyes for One Night Only.
Best Cinematography: Lee Meily for Baler.
Best Production Design: Aped Santos for Baler.
Best Editing: Danny Anonuevo for Baler.
Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten for Dayo
Best Theme Song: Lipad by Jessie Lasaten & Artemio Abad Jr. for Dayo
Best Sound: Albert Idioma & Wally Dellosa for Dayo
Best Visual Effects: Robert Quilao for Dayo
Best Make-up: Noli Villalobos for Desperadas 2

The major winners of the Cash sa Pelikula who got their prizes were:

Grand winner (P100,000)—Leslie M. Baradi

Two winners of P50,000—Maribel A. dela Cruz and Michael Angelo Galang

Four winners of P25,000—Kyle Tom C. Cruz; Robert Gumata; Wilma Kaw; and Francis Murphy.

There were 100 winners of P5,000 cash prize each.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at