Feb 25
35TH METRO MANILA FILMFEST LAUNCHED ON MARCH 6 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Feb 25, 2009

The 35th Metropolitan Manila Film Festival will be launched during the appreciation dinner to be hosted by the Filmfest Executive Committee which will be held on Friday, March 6, at the Shangrila Restaurant on West Avenue, Q.C.

The first tranche of subsidies from the share of the amusement taxes during the festival will be distributed during the occasion. The subsidiaries include the Social Fund of Malacanang, the MOWELFUND, the Film Academy of the Philippines, the Film Development Council of the Philippines, the Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council and the Optical Media Board.

Cash awards for the winners of the 2008 Filmfest will also be handed out together with the giving of cash prizes to the seven major winners of the Cash sa Pelikula raffle contest.

MOWELFUND Executive Director Boots Anson-Roa will act as the master of ceremonies. Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Bayani Fernando will deliver the main speech and officially launch the 2009 MMFF(P). The deadline for the submission of screenplays will be announced during the affair.

The mayors of the 16 cities and lone municipality of Metro Manila have been invited to the affair, as well as the active producers of the local film industry.

The winners of the last Filmfest Awards will receive their cash prizes. They include the following:

Best Picture: Baler
2nd Best Picture: Iskul Bukol 20 years later OctoArts/M-Zet & APT Productions
3rd Best Picture: Tanging Ina Niyong Lahat (Star Cinema)
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Baler
Best Director: Mark Meily for Baler
Best Actor: Christopher de Leon for Magkaibigan
Best Actress: Anne Curtis for Baler
Best Supporting Actor: Philip Salvador for Baler
Best Supporting Actress: Manilyn Reynes for One Night Only
Best Child Performer: Robert Villar for Shake, Rattle & Roll 10
Best Screenplay: Baler
Best Original Story: Jose Javier Reyes for One Night Only
Best Cinematography: Lee Meily for Baler
Best Production Design: Aped Santos for Baler
Best Editing: Danny Anonuevo for Baler
Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten for Dayo
Best Theme Song: Lipad by Jessie Lasaten & Artemio Abad Jr. for Dayo
Best Sound: Albert Idioma & Wally Dellosa for Dayo
Best Visual Effects: Robert Quilao for Dayo
Best Make-up: Noli Villalobos for Desperadas 2

The major winners of the Cash sa Pelikula are as follows:

Grand winner (P100,000)—Leslie M. Baradi

Two winners of P50,000—Maribel A. dela Cruz and Michael Angelo Galang

Four winners of P25,000—Kyle Tom C. Cruz; Robert Gumata; Wilma Kaw; and Francis Murphy.

There were 100 winners of P5,000 cash prize each.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/