Jan 20
DGPI EXTENDS PRESENT BOARD’S TERM FOR ANOTHER YEAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Jan 20, 2009

The Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (DGPI) has extended for another year the term of the incumbent president, chairman, secretary and treasurer, as well as four board directors and elected three new board members during elections held at the DGPI office last Sunday, January 18.

The retained officers included Tony Reyes, president; Mark Meily, chairman; Jose Carreon, secretary; and Mel Chionglo, treasurer; and board directors Emmanuel Borlaza, Joel Lamangan, Maryo delos Reyes and Romy Suzara.

Vice-President Soxie Topacio and board directors Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna could not be retained in absentia and were replaced by Ellen Ongkeko, who was eventually elected vice-president; Dante Brilliante Mendoza and Gil Portes.

The main reason for the retention of majority of the officers is to give them more time to implement the ongoing Directors’ Series project—a first-ever joint undertaking of the DGPI and APT Entertainment which aims to produce six digital films with a P3 million budget each for starter.

Three films—directed by Joel Lamangan, Lore Reyes and Soxie Topacio—had completed principal photography while three other projects will commence shooting soon and will be directed by Mel Chiognlo, Peque Gallaga and Maryo delos Reyes.

Four standing committees of the guild will also be reconstituted. These are the committees on education, membership, grievance-ethics and ways and means.

Two new members—Directors Frank Gray Jr. and Jess Lapid Jr.—took their oath while three othes failed to attend because of tapings and commitments. These are Directors Toppel Lee, Baldo Marro and Michael Tuviera.

The digital films in the DGPI-APT Directors’ Series project include: Lechon Lauriat, written and directed by Lore Reyes; Fuschia (written by Ricky Lee and directed by Joel lamangan); Dead na si Lolo (written and directed by Soxie Topacio); Bente (written by Ricky Lee and directed by Mel Chionglo); and Kamonteng Kahoy directed by Maryo J. delos Reyes.

The re-elected board has decided to correspond with the guild members in an effort to renew interest in guild activities and projects.

Two DGPI members passed away last year. They were Joselito ‘Abbo’ dela Cruz and Khryss Adalia.

As of now the DGPI roster of members includes the following film directors:

Mac Alejandre, Emmanuel Borlaza, Jose Carreon, Manny Castañeda, Celso Ad. Castillo, Mel Chionglo. Tony Cruz, Uro dela Cruz, Nick Deocampo;

Lav Diaz, Lauren Dyogi, Don Escudero, Ben Feleo, Peque Gallaga, Eddie Garcia, Quark Henares, Rico Ilarde, JeffreyJeturian, Lupita Kashiwahara;

Joel Lamangan, Jon-Dy Lazatin, Johnny Manahan, Erik Matti, Mark Meily, Brillante Mendoza, Rudy Meyer, Wilfredo Milan, Toto Natividad, Ellen Ongkeko;

Ipe Pelino, Boots Plata, Gil Portes, Jun Posadas, Eric Quizon, Jose Javier Reyes, Lore Reyes, Mark Reyes, Maryo J. delos Reyes, Tony Reyes;

Ronnie Ricketts, National Artist for Film Eddie Romero (honorary member), Joey Romero, Augusto Salvador, Cirio Santiago, Rowell Santiago, Carlos Siguion-Reyna, Jerry Sineneng, Romy Suzara, Soxie Topacio, Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao and Ben Yalung.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/