Jan 13
SGP ELECTIONS ON FRIDAY, JANUARY 16 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Jan 13, 2009

After the Actors’ Guild and the Filipino Society of Cinematographers’ elections last December, the Screenwriters Guild of the Philippines will hold its elections for seven directors on Friday, January 16.

SGP members are advised to pay their annual P100 membership dues before the election which is scheduled from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the conference room of the Film Academy of the Philippines at the OctoArts building on Panay St., Quezon City. Only members whose paid dues remain current up to Jan. 16, 2009 are qualified to vote.

Only qualified voters are eligible to be candidates. Those interested to run for a position in the guild’s board of directors must renew their membership and file their certificates of candidacy before 1 p.m. on January 16, 2009 at the SGP office at the FAP. For details and inquiries, please call Julie at 415-3880 and 374-1609 or cellphone 0919-688-1609.

The incumbent officers of the SGP are as follows: Pablo S. Gomez, president; Conrado Leonardo Jr., secretary/PRO; Manny Rodriguez, treasurer; Nita Eden So, auditor; and Franco Deocareza, William Pascual, Andy Beltran and Lita Duguran, directors.

Vice-President Pablo Libiran died last year.

Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association will supervise the elections as Comelec chairman, assisted by Alex Socorro and Julie Ann Nunez as FAP representatives.

The voting will be by secret balloting. All the ballot will be counted and verified by the Comelec starting at exactly 4 p.m. Votes will be tallied using a bulletin board for the benefit of SGP members and observers.

Proxy voting will be allowed so as not to disenfranchise working SGP members, provided the absentee voter submits a written authorization to the Comelec before the voting.

All elected directors will be proclaimed by the Comelec right after the election tally is declared final. Ties will be resolved by the Comelec.

An elected director who is not present at the time of proclamation is considered disqualified and will be replaced by the next in the list of votes garnered.

All candidates will be furnished with the election code which was drafted by Alex J. Socorro. The list of candidates will be posted in the venue of the election before the voting starts.

The seven winning directors will elect from among themselves the officers of the guild which will include the president, vice-president, secretary/PRO and treasurer.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/