Dec 19
26TH LUNA AWARDS WINNERS ANNOUNCED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Dec 19, 2008

A Love Story, a husband-wife-and-mistress-triangle with a twist, leads the winners in this year’s 26th Luna awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines.

The film, produced by Star Cinema, garnered five trophies that included best picture and best director.

FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez released the results yesterday and announced that the awarding ceremonies will be held in January next year.

The winners in the 12 categories are:

Best Picture—A Love Story (Star Cinema)

Best Director—Maryo J. de los Reyes for A Love Story.

Best Actor—Paolo Contis for Banal (Comguild Productions, Inc.)

Best Actress—Maricel Soriano for Bahay Kubo (Regal Entrainment Inc.)

Best Supporting Actor—Dante Rivero for A Love Story.

Best Supporting Actress—Angelica Panganiban for A Love Story.

Best Screenplay—Vanessa R. Valdez for A Love Story.

Best Cinematography—Renato de Vera for Ataul for Rent (Artiste Entertainment Works International)

Best Editing—Jess Navarro for Silip (Seiko Films)

Best Production Design—Rodell Cruz for Resiklo (Imus Productions)

Best Sound—Ditoy Aguila for Ouija (GMA Films/Viva Films)

Best Musical Score—Carmina Reyes Cuya for Ouija.

The Academy will also bestow honors and recognition on four film industry stalwarts. The awards and the awardees are listed as follows:

–The Golden Reel Award to Former President Joseph Estrada.

(There had been only two Golden Reel awardees in the history of the Film Academy—President Corazon C. Aquino in 1988 and the late King of Philippine Movies Fernando Poe Jr. in 2003.)

–The Manuel de Leon Award to the late Producer-Director Cirio Santiago.

–The FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award to Ms. Boots Anson-Roa.

–The Lamberto Avellana Award (posthumous) to the late sound engineer Juanito Clemente.

The Academy will also give a plaque of appreciation to Manila Mayor Alfredo Lim for his support and assistant to the Academy. Mayor Lim was the first Metro Manila executive to turn over to the Academy its share from the 25-centavo cultural development tax collected by movie houses for admission tickets retroactive to 1992. This amounted to P2.1 million.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at