Oct 27
PLONING VIES AGAINST 66 FOREIGN FILMS FOR OSCAR NOMINATION by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Oct 27, 2008

Ploning, the country’s entry to next year’s Oscar Awards, is vying against 66 other foreign films for five nomination slots for the best foreign language film category.

The film, chosen by a six-man committee headed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero, stars Judy Ann Santos and is directed by Dante Nico Garcia, a production designer. Ploning is produced by PanoraManila Pictures Co.

According to PanoraManila producer Guia Karla Gonzales, the head of the Awards Department of the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Terene Svitil, informed them that Ploning is now officially in the list of submissions for the Foreign Language category of the 81st Academy Awards.

In a letter to Film Academy of the Philippines Director-General Leo G. Martinez, Ms. Gonzales also said that the board of trustees of the Film Development Council of the Philippines also granted a subsidy of P500,000 for the promotions of Ploning.

According to the official list released by the AMPAS, the 67 official entries are listed down as follows:

Opium War by Siddiq Barmak (Afghanistan); The Sorror of Mrs. Schneider by Piro Milkani and Eno Milkani (Albania); Masquerades by Lyes Salem (Algeria); Lion’s Den by Pablo Trapero (Argentina); Revanche by Gotz Spielman (Austria); Fortress by Shamil Nacafzada (Azerbaijan);

Aha! By Enamul Karim Nirjhar (Bangladesh); Eldorado by Bouli Lanners (Belgium); Sno by Aida Begic (Bosnia and Herzegovina); Last Stop 174 by Bruno Barreto (Brazil); Zift by Javor Gardev (Bulgaria);

The Necessities of Life by Penoit Pilon (Canada); Tony Manero by Pablo Larrain (Chile); Dream Weavers by Jun Gu (China); Dog Eat Dog by Carlos Moreno (Colombia); No One’s Son by Arsen Anton Ostojic (Croatia); The Karamazovs by Petr Zelenka (Czech Republic);

Worlds Apart by Niels Arden Oplev (Denmark);

The Island by Sherif Arafa (Egypt); I Was here by Rene Vilbre (Estonia);

The Home of Dark Butterflies by Dome Karukoski (Finland); The Class by Laurent Cantet (France); Mediator by Dito Tsintsadze (Georgia); The Baader Meinhof Complex by Uli Edel (Germany); Correction by Thanos Anastopoulus (Greece);

Painted Skin by Gordon Chan (Hong Kong); Iska’s Journey by Csaba Boliok (Hungary);

White Night Wedding by Baltasar Kormakur (Iceland); Taare Zameen Par by Aamir Khan (India); The Song of Sparrows by Majid Majidi (Iran); Waltz with Bashir by Ari Folman (Israel); Gomorra by Matteo Garrone (Italy);

Departures by Yojiro Takita (Japan); Captain Abu Raed by Sergey Dvortsevoy (Jordan);

Tulpan by Sergey Dvortsevoy (Kazakhstan); Crossing by Tae-kyun Kim (Korea); Heavens Blue by Marie Jaoul de Poncheville (Kyrgyzstan);

Defenders of Riga by Aigars Grauba (Latvia); Under the Bombs by Philippe Aractingi (Lebanon); Loss by Maris Martinsons (Lithuania); Nuits d’ Arabie by Paul Kieffer (Luxembourg);

I’m from Titov Veles by Teona Strugar Mitevska; Tear This Heart Out by Roberto Snieder (Mexico); Goodbye, Mothers by Mohamed Ismail (Morocco); Dunya % Desie by Dana Nechushtan (The Netherlands);

Salt of the Sea by Annemarie Jacir (Palestine); Ploning by Dante Nico Garcia (Philippines); Tricks by Andrzev Jakimowski (Poland); Our Beloved Month of August by Miguel Gomes (Portugal);

The Rest Is Silence by Nae Caranfil (Romania); Mermiad by Anna Melikyan (Russia);

The Tour by Goran Markovic (Serbia); My Magic by Eric Kho (Singapore); Blind Loves by Juraj Lehotsky (Slovakia); Rooster’s Breakfast by Marko Nabersnik (Slovenia); Jerusalema by Ralph Zilman (South Africa); The Blind Sunflowers by Jose Luis Cuerda (Spain); Everlasting Moments by Jan Troell (Sweden); The Friend by Micha Lewinsky (Switzerland);

Cape No. 7 by Te-sheng Wei (Taiwan); Love of Siam by Chookiat Sakveerakul (Thailand); 3 Monkeys by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey);

Illusion of Fear by Aleksandr Kiiriyenko (Ukraine); Hope Eternal by Karl Francis (United Kingdom); Kill Them All by Esteban Schroeder (Uruguay);

The Color of Fame by Alejandro Bellame Palacios (Venezuela).

Five members of a special committee of the Film Academy which was tasked to select the country’s entry narrowed down the possible nominee to two films, Ploning and Caregiver. In a meeting last August 20, three members voted for Ploning and two members chose Caregiver.

The special committee members were Director Jose Carreon, secretary of the Directors Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors Association; Johnny Delgado, chairman of the Actors’ Workshop Foundation; Pablo S. Gomez, president of the Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines; and Manny Morfe, president of the Productions Designers Guild of the Philippines.

The two films were initially included in a six-film short list which were all reviewed by the committee in August at the FAP office at OctoArts Bldg. on Panay Avenue, Q.C. Also reviewed were Tribu, a Cinemalaya festival winner and Endo.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/